Having a fun time in The Tide Turns on Epic Normal

This past weekend, I logged on with Wapoyei (Level 22 Cleric/Exalted Angel) who needed to complete the Tide Turns on epic difficulty to complete the Sentinels of Stormreach chain.  I saw that another guildie was on, Okhamel, and asked him if he wanted to join me.  He switched characters to Friedrice (Level 22 Ranger/Shiradi Champion) and we started to gather our buffs on board the guild airship.  As we were buffing up, I decided I needed to get Wapoyei a new weapon.  He had been using +1 Holy Burst Heavy Mace of Pure Good with a Festival Icy Burst recipe applied for years now.  The weapon was a minimum level 12 and has sustained a fair amount of permanent damage over time.  So, I went to the Auction House and picked up a +2 Sun’s Fury Morningstar of Ghostbane.  The morningstar was an epic level, minimum level 22.  So after I picked that weapon up, Friedrice and I entered the quest.

Wap and Fried taking on the Blood Tide in House Deneith photo WapandFriedtakingontheBloodTideinHouseDeneith_zpsafe99370.jpg
Wapoyei and Friedrice taking care of the Blood Tide Pirates.

We moved through the quest fairly quickly.  I brought out my Onyx Panther and a Rogue/Shadowdancer hireling and Friedrice brought out a Favored Soul/Exalted angel hireling.  Friedrice was using paralyzing shot from his Arcane Archer enhancements to act as some crowd control while I was surprisingly happy to see my Destruction’s going off on the myriad of casters that would appear.  I was fairly certain I would have some problems with my Destruction spell since Wapoyei isn’t really a DC based cleric/caster.  He is more of a melee /healer based character, so seeing the pumpkin head appear over the enemy spell casters was quite refreshing.  I was able to knock a few of the archers with Destruction as well.

Nice cozy fireplace in the accountants office photo NicecozyfireintheaccountantroomofSentinelTower_zpsf76e21b4.jpg
Nice cozy space for the accountant of the Sentinel Tower.

Wapoyei is a Radiant Servant and his healing aura was all he needed to keep everybody up and healed, so I had no problems keeping folks healed.  After we made it past the rats and the internal pipeworks of the Sentinel Tower, we were able to successfully lock the pirates in the northern and southern wings to get that additional optional experience and then headed to the top of the tower.  During this whole time, the hirelings were doing ok although I did have some problems with my rogue/shadowdancer  hireling with respect to actually disabling the boxes.  For some reason he refused to come to the box to disable the various traps.  It took me a number of times to get him into position to finally disable the trap.  But eventually I did and with that being the only issue with the hirelings, I was ok with that.

Watching the fire ele making trouble photo Watchingthefireelemakingtrouble_zps9f4fee28.jpg
Watching the fire elemental moving to free his brethren from the Crimson Moon.

Now one of the most interesting aspects of this quest is watching the Crimson Moon and seeing the fire elemental float toward the attractive airship and destroy it.  I just think the animation and graphics are nicely done :).

Wapoyei taking a look at the Crimson Moon photo WapscanningalookattheCrimsonMoon_zps7c922936.jpg
Wapoyei admiring the Crimson Moon.

The end fight with Captain Tew went really well and then the second fight with Ratty went well too.  I did wonder why the ogre magi chose to disguise himself as rat and not a parrot?  I mean come on, all pirates have parrots, not rats..geesh.

Ratty tatty photo Rattytatty_zps2cbf03ef.jpg
Preparing to fight Ratty Tatty here…

Box in Ahraatz-ri photo BoxinAhraatz-ri_zps732ed3e5.jpgBox in Ahraatz-ri.

It was a fun run and I was glad to get it knocked out.  We got over 30,000k experience for it , enough for Friedrice to hit level 23 :).  Now it looks like Wapoyei needs to start on the VONs now.

Thanks for reading everybody and happy hunting!!

Leave a Reply

