Erdrique’s Journal: The Sanctum-Quench the Flames

Quest: The Sanctum: Quench the Flames
Level 10 (normal), 11 (hard), 12(elite)
Crawlers: Erdrique

I have to realize that Sorrowdusk Isle has become a place to harbor evil. I’m surprised that the Grey Moon ogre clan was able to survive after the realization that these trolls were working with these evil members of the Cult of the Six. After I had defeated the Prelate to the Cult of the Six, I returned to Lord Hragg of the Grey Moon Tribe and found out that my task was still not done. Evidently the mephits were already summoned and their sources of summoning were still active drawing forth even more of the vile creatures. Lord Hragg asked us to go back to the temple to destroy the summoning circles, otherwise Sorrowdusk Isle was going to be overrun by a batch of mehits.

So I turned back to Arkyn and told him we need to go back to the temple. He was less than enthused. Too bad he was just a mercenary, otherwise I would have given him some mundane duties when we returned back to Stormreach. I’m going to have to make a mental note of his “activity”. I then called back to Fang and we head back out.

Before long we were back at the entrance to the temple in Sorrowdusk Isle. Ever since my first foray into this vicious temple, I have disgusted by the doorway, which represents the evil powers of the Six. We quickly re-entered the temple and began our quest to destroy these summoning circles. I wasn’t sure exactly what we would see but I figured we needed to prepare for at least a series of fire mephits. Once we entered we all took a deep breath and started on our way. We took a second to prepare for the oncoming battle. We could hear wings flapping in the distance, it was evident that the summoning circles were quite active and bringing forth a number of the vile mephits.

We progressed to the first doorway and peaked inside. Our suspicions were confirmed as we noted a large number of fire and air mephits floating around the hallway. As we retreated back into the initial hallway we were spotted. All pretense of taking the enemy by surprised was thrown out of the window. Before we knew it, we were engaged heavily by the mephit swarm. I summoned forth a massive ice storm to help slow mephits down and in hopes of giving us some cover. Luckily it worked. Although the initial fight was brutal, we did prevail taking out all of the mephits in the initial attack. However Fang was severely injured and my summoned earth elemental was destroyed. While Arkyn tended to Fang and healed his wounds I summoned forth another earth elemental and after a short while proceeded further into the temple.

As we progressed further down the hall we encountered a few cultists. I immediately hit one with a creeping cold spell and before I knew it the fight was once again. Fang entered the fight, still enraged from his previous encounter with the mephits. Needless to say, the fight didn’t last long at all. These cultists weren’t nearly as dangerous or as overwhelming as the issue fight with the mephits. Once we dispatched with the cultists we came across to a hallway that continued down into the temple. However, we could hear more mephits and other potential enemies in the room we were currently in, which was shaped like a circle. I didn’t want to have any enemies trailing us, so I led Arkyn and Fang futher into the circular shaped room where we quickly encountered more mephits. Fire mephits and air mephits to be specific. We quickly engaged them and dispatched with them as well. We continued around the main room and then ran into a new enemy, wights. A few of the coffins in this temple split during our previous fighting and produced these vile creatures. The wights stumbled over to us, thinking us easy prey. We decided to show them otherwise..

After the last fight, we made our way back to the initial split in the hallway, where a secondary hallway split off to the west. The entrance to this hallway was marked by three hideous faces on the wall and the hall. It appeared to be a nice spot for a deadly trap. As I cautiously proceeded forward, darts suddenly shout out from the opposite wall. I quickly moved back and contemplated how to cross through this difficult trap. Luckily the darts were relatively low and I judged that we could jump past the trap, assuming we get the timing down. We set the trap once again to learn the timing and then proceeded through. Even though we studied the timing we still got edged by the last set of darts but we pushed through just fine. As soon as we crossed the threshold into the next room, we noticed more coffins. We broke each coffin and as we did, some nasty looking wights came out of them. We also encountered a few cultists as well. But we continued on into the next room.

The room had another hallway leading to the west. This hallway was different then the last one, in that it had a large column separating the hallway. The hallway itself look deceiving and safe, especially since the last hallway was trapped with darts. We slowly started to make our way into the next room when I heard some scraping of metal on stone and quickly jumped back to see a huge blade come sweeping around the hallway. If the blade had hit me, I would have been cut in half!! I took another look around the divider and I looked further up the passage way and could see one of the dreaded summoning circles. So I decided to try to jump past the dreaded trap…luckily I was agile enough to not get cut in half but I did take some serious damage. I quickly healed myself and started forward to the summoning circle.

It didn’t take long before a number of mephits began to spawn from the dimensional portal. I was soon bombarded by fire and air mephits. I continued to work on the summoning circle while getting battered by the many mephits. I gave a sigh of relief when the summoning circle finally crumbled and the mephitis stopped appearing before me. I took out those mephitis that remained and turned to head back to the trap littered hallway. However, I noticed that from this particular vantage point that I jump up and reach the top of the division to the hallway. By doing so, I was able to bypass that deadly trap.

We then headed back to the other side of the main hallway. This hallway, like the previous one, was split by a column. I assumed, like the previous hallway, that it was trapped. I moved over carefully and started to inch forward. I told Fang and Arkyn to hold back. As I progressed forward, extremely slowly, I saw out of the corner of my eye a sharp flame shooting out of the wall and from the inner column. I hurried back, just in time too, as the hallway sprang up in a burst of flames. To top that off, I could hear and see mephitis on the other side of the hallway. I quickly took a few potions to help counter the flaming aspects of this horrendous trap and told Fang and Arkyn to hold back and then and jumped through and past the hallway. I then found myself face to face with a number of angry mephitis.

Even being battered, I took on the mephitis and defeated them. Fang was showing some severe signs of impatience and it took everything I had to hold him back because I was afraid of what the fire trap would do to him. I moved a little further into the hallway and noticed that the hallway split in three directions. Directly ahead the tunnel continued but the branching hallway to each side contained a summoning circle. I crept up to the first one and cast Creeping Cold on it and immediately started to attack it. Mephits started to appear and began to attack me. I focused primarily on the summoning circle until it was destroyed. Once it was destroyed I backed out of the area and regrouped to take on the mephits. I can tell you one thing about mephits, they are very vicious creatures and fight with every ounce of tenacity that they can muster. After the mephits were dispatched I turned around and headed to the opposite hallway. I hit the next summoning circle with greater creeping cold and creeping cold and then focused on the mephits as they poured forth.

It was a challenging fight indeed!! I could hear Fang whimpering in the background, how he so wanted to join me but I knew he wouldn’t be able to survive that deadly fire trap. Before long both summoning circles were destroyed along with their nasty mephits. I moved up further along the path, after healing myself from my many cuts and scrapes, and came across another set of vile cultist. These cultists though were doing a patrol far off from the last summoning circle, which I could see across a span of lava. When the cultists were dump enough to come in range, I engaged them and took them out.

The last summoning circle was the easiest to take care of. From across the lava pool, I was able to hit the summoning circle with a number of spell and I was able to quickly destroy it. Even though the mephits came forth in a large number, they couldn’t see me right away and were disoriented which allowed me to get the upper hand. I had also realized that Fang and Arkyn had come up behind me, a little toasty but no worse than rare. Finally, the mephits were destroyed as well as these horrendous summoning circles. After that we took the final set of mephits we left the temple and headed back to Hraag.

Leave a Reply

