Waiting for that download….hopes for Update 18 and the next expansion

Originally posted on my GuildPortal Blog on May 23, 2013: http://www.guildportal.com/Me/540050797/span/2013/5

Well my mid-day run yesterday was pretty much a bust and I didn’t get a chance to log in.  The reason why I didn’t get a chance to log in was because my DDO client was updating and downloading the most recent update for the game, Update 18: Disciples of Shadow, which was just released yesterday.  With this update, news was also released that the next expansion, The Shadowfell Conspiracy, will be released on August 19th and that pre-orders are now being taken for the expansion. 

This particular update, is a little underwhelming for me overall.  This update really only contains three new quests and one of those quests you can access once you pre-order the Shadowfell Conspiracy expansion.  Also, the three quests are base level 15 quests with no epic level conversions.  Seems very strange to me and I’m hoping this will change with the expansion.  Perhaps the most exciting part with Update 18 isn’t even with the update but with the packages available for pre-order of the expansion.  Hellbanisher took at look at the various packages available and ordered the expansion, including the Legendary Upgrade which gave him the Owlbear hireling.  I have to say the Owlbear hireling was quite cool and coupled with my panther hireling, they made a tremendous team.  The other goodies from the pre-order included these new skill tomes and epic tomes of learning.  These goodies to me are more interesting than Update 18 itself.

I’m hoping that the expansion will be just as good and better than Menace of the Underdark.  I hope that they introduce a bunch of new quests that will have both heroic and epic level selections and I hope the explorer areas will be interesting and unique.  The explorer areas do sound interesting, but without seeing them I don’t know what to expect.  I also hope that a new race or a new class will be released and that they don’t leave this void to be filled by the “Iconic Heroes”.  I don’t see the Iconic Heroes as a new class or race.  Druids were released with Menace of the Underdark, hopefully we will get some other class with this expansion.

Then there is always the new enhancement pass.  Will this make it before the expansion?  I don’t think it will but time will only tell.  If the enhancement system can be completely reworked with all bugs addressed and released within the new expansion, it will create a whole lot of interest.  I have a feeling that the summer could be interesting.

Leave a Reply

