Hitting up Some Quests, August 11 to August 15

This week’s questing began with my main character, Erdrique (Level 16 Druid), who I took out into the Restless Isles for a typical morning slayer run prior to heading to work.  I had just completed the Ataraxia’s Haven explorer area and now plan on finishing up the Restless Isles before heading out to the Desert.  After I returned home from work, I was scheduled to log on with Erdrique once again for my afternoon run before dinner.  So I took Erdrique into the quest, Eyes of Stone.  I had little difficulty making my way through the Lordsmarch Palace and to the medusa but I did run into some stumbling blocks with her but nothing I couldn’t overcome (Fang died, but surprisingly my hireling did not).  Monday night, while I was also playing my weekly digital D&D game, I logged on with Rimuldar (Level 22 Wizard/Magister) and was joined up with Friedrice to take on the Chains of Flame on epic normal.  It was quite a run, as I was constantly being distracted from my other game, which frequently lead me to do some stupid things and to get pulverized a few times.  However, Friedrice pulled us through and we completed the lengthy run.  After that, I had to call it a night and logged out.

Erd exploring the Restless Isles photo ErdexploringtheRestlessIsles_zps33da63df.jpg
Erd exploring the Restless Isles.

Erd taking on the Droaam forces in the Lordsmarch Plaza photo ErdtakingontheDroaamforcesinLordsmarchPlaza_zpsbdf22f62.jpg
Erdrique taking on the Droaam forces in the Lordsmarch Plaza.

Rimuldar fighting the gnolls in the Burning City photo RimuldarfightingthegnollsintheBurningCity_zpsace97f39.jpg
Rimuldar and Friedrice taking on the Chains of Flame.

On Tuesday morning, I logged on with Kolll (Level 21 Ranger/Shiradi Champion) and took him into the wilds of the King’s Forest.  I really enjoy running out there and exploring that particular wildnerness area and look forward to taking other characters out there.  After work, I logged on with Hamllin (Level 10 Fighter) and took him into the Tomb of the Shadow Guard.  This particular run opened my eyes about some aspects of the Cannith Crafting system.  Hamllin didn’t have a ghost touch weapon so I crafted him a ghost touch shortsword of pure good that a lesser ruby of acid slotted in it.  I took that into the quest to realize that the crafter shortsword wasn’t doing a lot of damage because it was being affected by the damage reduction of the incorporal enemies.  It then dawned on me that I needed to add the +1 enhancement bonus to the sword in order to bypass that reduction.  So, although it was painful, I did weed through the Tomb of the Shadow Guard on elite, primarily with the strength behind my Sunblade.  Definitely an interesting run and a learning experience.  Tuesday night, I logged on with Containment (Level 4 Cleric) and took him through many of the solo only quests (The Miller’s Debt, An Explosive Situation, and Arachnophobia) and then I joined up with Zalexia and Rheagon and we hit up the Waterworks and started that chain.  After we finished the first half of the chain, I had to call it a night and told Zalexia and Rheagon I would catch up with them later and then logged out.

Exploring the King's Forest photo ExploringtheKingsForest_zps4453b246.jpg
Kolll exploring the King’s Forest.

Hamllin noticing the face in the Shadow Guard photo HamllinnoticingthefaceintheShadowGuard_zps7c39be67.jpg
Hamllin noticing the strange iconic face in the Tomb of the Shadow Guard.

Containment looking for the Miller photo ContainmentlookingfortheMiller_zpsf4213fff.jpg
Containment looking for the Miller.

Containment fighting the Quickfoot photo ContainmentfightingtheQuickfoot_zps46120d7e.jpg
Containment looking to thwart the Quickfoot gang.

Fighting a spider queen photo Fightingaspiderqueen_zps236866c4.jpg
Containment fighting the brown spider queen in Arachnophobia.

Containment taking his gang through Waterworks photo ContainmenttakinghisgangthroughWaterworks_zpsd8f49346.jpg
Containment taking Zalexia and Rheagon into Waterworks.

On Wednesday, I ran my spirit shaman Ragnar in my Neverwinter Nights II Original Campaign game.  He is currently hunting around the city of Highcliff.  After I got back from work, it was time for me to log on with Erdrique once again.  This time I took him into the Cursed Crypt.  I had an interesting time during this particular run that lead to a little bit of frustration.  Everything was going fairly well (except for some disconnecting/lag issues) until I hit the last fight.  I misjudged the ability of hireling, who managed to kill the remaining Silver Flame warriors just before I could take out Maldetto.  Oh well, I’ll take him out this weekend!! :).  After than run, I called it a night and spent the rest of the evening with my beautiful wife for date night.

Ragnar and his group approaching the High Cliff ruins photo RagnarandhisgroupapproachingtheHighCliffRuins_zps564b5340.jpg
Ragnar and his gang on the outskirts of the Highcliffs ruins.

Erd attacking an eternal wizard in the Cursed Crypt photo ErdattackinganeternalwizardintheCursedCrypt_zpsa7130ede.jpg
Erd attacking an eternal wizard in the Cursed Crypt.

I was scheduled to log in with Kanndar (Level 10 Paladin) and take him into the Searing Heights for my morning slayer runs Thursday morning.  After running him through the Searing Heights and locating the rest of his explorer points I logged out and headed to work.  For my afternoon run, after work, I logged on with Hamllin and took him into the Tomb of the Shadow Knight.  However, this time I upgraded this ghost touch shortsword with a +1 shard and so he was now dual wielding a +1 ghost touch shortsword of pure good with a lesser acid ruby and a Sunblade.  The attack sequences went much easier and the mobs went down much faster :).  I did have some fun avoiding the traps but overall this quest run was much better than in the Shadow Guard.  During my night runs, I logged on with Stoorage (Level 10 Fighter) and ran through the Fire Caves on hard and elite.  Once those runs were completed I called it a night.

Kanndar in front of the setting moon in Searing Heights photo KanndarinfrontofthesettingmooninSearingHeights_zps60ae4e85.jpg
Kanndar in front of the peak in Searing Heights.

 photo HamllinmakinghiswaythroughtheCryptoftheShadowKnight_zps684de857.jpg
Hamllin enjoying his upgraded shortsword in the Tomb of the Shadow Knight.

 photo StooragetakingontheogresintheFireCaves_zpsb6af3da8.jpg
Stoorage facing off against the ogres in the Fire Caves in Stones Run Red.

 photo Stooragefacingoffagainssomehellhounds_zps20503fac.jpg
Stoorage fighting hell hounds in the Brood of Flame.

In review the week’s worth of runs were challenging at times and informational :).  Not a bad week’s worth of questing in my opinion.  Well, thanks for reading everybody and happy hunting!!     

Leave a Reply

