A Good Problem?

My main character, Erdrique is now a level 16 druid (with level 17 banked) and as a result I started to ponder creating a new character who was going to be a dedicated druid in my arsenal of DDO characters because Erdrique will soon be prepping for his next heroic true reincarnation.  I have actually started to work on a druid that is more focused on spell casting as opposed to melee, which is what Erdrique is more focused on.  However, as I was thinking about this over the weekend, another “problem” came to my mind.  The problem of having a large number of characters.

Between my two accounts, I have 18 characters and this new druid would make it 19.  Nineteen characters is just a lot of different characters to maintain.  I like to think that I do a good job in splitting up my game time between my characters.  I have developed a schedule where I rotate through my characters each morning through various slayer areas prior to work.  I have also split up some play time for my true reincarnated characters, Erdrique and Hamllin, that I call my afternoon runs right after work.  These runs I do just before dinner during the weekday.  During the weekday nights I rotate through my characters and do some quests as opposed to slayer runs and on the weekend nights I typically just play Erdrique.

Stoorage facing off against some hell hounds photo Stooragefacingoffagainssomehellhounds_zps20503fac.jpg
Stoorage facing off against hellhounds in Three Barrel Cove.

The primary problem with this method, is that it generally takes me a long time to get any particular character leveled up.  This typically wouldn’t bother me all that much but I have also come to realize that although I play each character, the time between the play spans for each character is quite a bit, and as a result I tend to forget the characters various abilities, spells, and attack capabilities, especially on my casters.  Besides that, the majority of these characters are typically under geared, basically because I haven’t devoted the time to properly gear them.  Because of this, I tend to run quests on easier difficulties. 

Beautiful scene in the Searing Heights photo BeautifulsceneinSearingHeights_zps0fffcbfc.jpg
Cantlin enjoying the Searing Heights.

This makes me wonder if this is the “best” method to experience DDO.  I like to play each character class and to understand how each plays.  Some of my guildies tend to “focus” on one character for a good amount of time and then to move onto another one.  Some others have just reduced their arsenal of characters to only one.  While others tend to spread some time around their characters not to unlike myself.  For me though, the “best” way to experience DDO is to play a characters from as many classes and races as you can.  This gives you an idea on the capabilities of the classes and races and just keeps the game fresh.  However, to do this you definitely have to be patient and not put in a lot of stock in quick character advancement.  That is why I titled this particular blog as “A Good Problem”. 

Erd attacking an eternal wizard in the Cursed Crypt photo ErdattackinganeternalwizardintheCursedCrypt_zpsa7130ede.jpg
Erdrique questing in the Cursed Crypt.

In any case, I do enjoy the plethora of characters I have and I’m still working on ways to keep them fresh.  Who knows, I might even adjust my scheduling once again, we’ll see. 

Thanks for reading everybody and happy hunting!!

2 thoughts on “A Good Problem?

  1. It’s becoming a bad problem for me. Most of my characters have some flavor specific to itself, and so I want to develop each. But time is what time is and I haven’t got all my life to play. And I do want to play more with groups rather than soloing all the time to develop some of these traits (hard to do with a go-go-go group). I see my dojo decreasing in number as I retire characters.

    Like

Leave a Reply

