Taking a Look at the Cannith Challenges

Over the past few weeks I have decided to run some of the Cannith Challenges a little more frequently than I have in the past.  When the challenges first came out I had tried to run Dr. Rushmore’s Mansion: Behind the Door a few times and for awhile I started to farm the Extraplanar Palace: Buying Time for epic mephit wings to get tokens to buy hearts of wood.  However, I wound up putting these quests on the back burner for quite some time until relatively recently.

For some reason, it finally dawned on me that some of the things you can get from the challenges (besides gear) are minor guild renown potions, minor experience elixirs, and minor slayer potions.  With that in mind, I decided to make it a concerted effort to try to run at least one challenge a night to help in buying minor guild renown potions so help the Crypt Crawlers advance in their guild levels :).  However, while doing these challenges I got a little reinvigorated with them.  So far I have been running Behind the Door and Buying Time more than anything else.  While running these two challenges, I have been encountering some strange and interesting things which just makes me want to run them more.

Time to direct some kobolds photo Timetodirectsomekobolds_zpsf9799f55.jpgGarrrin guiding some kobolds in Buying Time.

For instance, I have take a few characters through Behind the Door.  The last character I took through their was Lorrikk (Level 11 Monk).  While running Lorrikk through here, I actually found myself finding Dr. Rushmore himself, the second of the bosses I encountered during that run.  I just found it very interesting that I found the primary boss before I found his other cronies.  I also find the temporary buffs you get from breaking crates and other items very interesting.

Lorrikk making his way through Dr Rushmore's Mansion photo LorrikkmakinghiswaythroughDrRushmoresMansion_zps82d35f14.jpg
Lorrikk making his way through Dr. Rushmore’s mansion.

Meanwhile, I have run Buying Time with Garrrin (Level 21 Barbarian/Fury of The Wild), Kolll (Level 21 Ranger/Shiradi Champion), and Charlock (Level 13 Fighter).  And each time a different path was needed for the kobolds to collect their crystals.  I also find it interesting that you deal with a variety of monsters that normally wouldn’t be associated with each other.  Having to deal with animated armors, mephits, yugoloth, mariliths, rakashas, and hags I find challenging.

In any case, I plan on continuing to “mess” around with these challenges, primarily for gathering enough ingredients to buy those potions but I will also probably start looking more into the gear available as well.  If you haven’t tried the challenges, I would recommend giving them a chance.  You might like what you come across :).  Thanks for reading everybody and happy hunting!!

3 thoughts on “Taking a Look at the Cannith Challenges

  1. i like the challenges quite a bit myself. the loot is really nice, and they’re just plain fun. it took me a few runs before i realized breakables have powerups inside, too!
    unfortunately i rarely find anyone to run them with, and my lfms are ignored as well. but i still give them a go once in a while. maybe they’ll catch back on!

    Like

Leave a Reply

