There is Something to be Said For Being Persistent

Earlier in the week I had attempted to take Hamllin (Level 13 Fighter) into Ataraxia’s Haven to do the quest Reclamation on elite.  Now Reclamation is a very tough quest if you don’t know what to expect or how to handle the numerous duergar miners, sharpshooters, laborers, and bosses that are located throughout the quest.  Another thing about Reclamation is that it is a relatively hard quest to try to zerg through with only a hireling as some help.  See, I was running low on time and figured I could “bull rush” my through it.  Well everything was going great until I got to the second overseer.  At that point I pulled in way too many duergar and was quickly overwhelmed.  I had also left my hireling trailing in my footsteps and by the time I realized it, I was nothing more than a soulstone and then my hireling quickly followed.

Well, my redemption came early on during the weekend.  I took Hamllin back into Reclamation but had a little more time, so I didn’t have to worry about zerging.  I was able to use a number of Hamllin’s tactical feats to even the odds, landing a number of stunning blows and actually tripping an adamantine defender, which I found quit amusing.

 photo Nicestunningblow_zps15c373d3.jpg
Hamllin having some fun with stunning blow in Reclamation.

 photo Hammytrippingaadmantinedefender_zpsb3bb8383.jpg
Hammy tripping an adamantine defender in Reclamation.

However, I think the greatest reward for my persistence in taking down the duergar was breaking a crate to complete one of the optionals and watching a +2 Upgrade Tome of Constitution fall out.  I have to admit that I really enjoy demolishing all crates, barrels, and jars in quests now because you never know what you are going to get.

 photo Havetolikebreakingthebarrels_zps1c85618e.jpg
Hamllin is enjoying finding this little nugget in a busted crate in Reclamation.

I guess the take home message is that persistence does pay off!!   And don’t forget to break those crates!!  Thanks for reading everybody and happy hunting!!

One thought on “There is Something to be Said For Being Persistent

Leave a Reply

