Remembering the Good O’ Days

I had a number of issues occurring with my gaming the day after Thanksgiving as my video card decided it didn’t want to cooperate with me.  After spending a number of hours working on it, I was finally able to get into DDO without my video card crashing and was able to get one quest in with Crawlller (Level 6 Ranger).  Now a few things about Crawlller.  One, he is severely undergeared (just like the vast majority of my characters), two he is on my premium account meaning that he holds a lot of the guild’s bank items, and three, his inventory and bank space is extremely limited which means I don’t have a lot of space for curatives.  So to make my life easier, I also tote around a cleric hireling.

Well, after fiddling around with my video card for hours, I wasn’t operating on all cylinders.  I noticed that I still had a hireling available so I thought I was good to go.  So I headed out to Where’s There Smoke and entered on elite.  Well, as I entered I went to summon the hireling to realize that he expired.  Figures that would happen, so I decided to stay in the quest on elite with Crawlller.  It was just like when DDO didn’t have hirelings and solo really meant no other help in the party (not counting summons).  Back then self sufficiency was extremely important and if you were a ranger or a paladin you needed to make sure you had your wands, scrolls, and potions.  I must say, I was expecting on having a lot more difficulty that what I did.  Although I didn’t have any wands on me, I still had a few potions and the enhancement Empathic Healing.  I was also to use a lot more caution when it came to pulling mobs to me.  Overall, using ranged combat when necessary, limiting my exposure to melee attacks and encounters, and sporadic healing I was able to make my way through the quest.  I know that a lot of my skills in this regard has softened over time with the use of hirelings but it was good to pull it off.  I think I just might make it more common to run a quest in such a fasion :).

Crawlller coming upon a shrine in Nash's Farmstead photo CrawlllercominguponashrineinNashsFarmstead_zpseb0c303f.jpg
Crawlller coming upon a shrine in Nash’s Farmstead.

Thanks for reading everybody and happy hunting!!

One thought on “Remembering the Good O’ Days

Leave a Reply

