The Great Balancing Act

One of the things that I think a lot of DDO players run into is what I’m going to call the Great Balancing Act.  In this regard, I’m talking about getting “quality” game time in while still actively having a social and working life.  In many aspects, this become extremely more challenging for those who have family commitments, such as children, or those who have a demanding career, or in some cases both.  To top that off, for players like myself who have a plethora characters, getting enough playtime between characters adds another extra layer to the cake to work on.

For awhile now, I was able to balance these demands fairly well.  I had developed a playing schedule for my characters that centered around some play time prior to work, right after I got home from work and prior to dinner, and later that evening.  My morning runs typically consisted of a slayer run, my afternoon run consisted of questing with one of heroic true reincarnated characters, and the evening run consisted of regular questing.  I would rotate characters between these activities to make sure that everybody received their playing time.  Now keep in mind I was also spending some time maintaining our guild website, doing my blogging (which I’m currently fallen behind in), and sending out some weekly newsletters to the guild which have a lot of information contained within them.

 photo TheCrawlersdealingwiththemephitswarms_zps2c524300.jpg
The Crypt Crawlers hunting in Chains of Flame, an unexpected run to the schedule but still a fun one!!

Now, one of the reasons why I was able to do this was because of my work schedule.  Unfortunately that has now changed.  I used to be able to do my daily workout during my lunch hour however my supervisors apparently don’t like that idea.  So now I have to work out after work.  So instead of getting home at around 5 pm, I’m now not getting home until 6:30 pm.  An hour and a half may not seem like a lot, but in my schedule of activities it has turned out to be quite a change and I’m still trying to get used to it.

Right now, I still have been able to keep up with my after work run but I have fallen behind in other things, such as my blogging.  I typically like to do a blog once a day, and this is my first blog since Saturday :(.  In any case, striking that balance between playtime, worktime, and family time is ever changing and always tenuous.  Right when you think you have it set down, something throws a wrinkle in it.  Oh well, enough complaining!!  Time to get playing, blogging, writing, and having fun :).

Thanks for reading everybody and happy hunting in DDO!!

4 thoughts on “The Great Balancing Act

  1. It definitely has been an adjustment that I haven’t nailed down yet. But I’m working on it. I just try to do so much game stuff out of DDO, such as blogging, that is being delayed unfortunately. I’ll work out a schedule in time…

    Like

  2. Pingback: Sometimes I Just Wish I Had Some More Time | Erdrique's Blog

Leave a Reply

