Taking Note of an Interesting Banner in the Crypt of Gerard Dryden

This past weekend, I took my character Crawlller (Level 6 Ranger) into the Catacombs to continue that story arc.  As I was working through the second chapter of that story arc, Duality, I headed off into the quest, The Crypt of Gerard Dryden.  As I was making my way through the crypt and taking care of the hordes of undead mobs in each room, I took note of an interesting banner that was hanging on the wall next to one of the many coffins in the quest.

 photo Taking note of the banner_zpsmhhy60ao.jpg
Crawlller taking a mental note of that banner besides the coffin in the Crypt of Gerard Dryden.

Now one of the things that I continue to enjoy about DDO, even after playing the game for as long as I have, are noticing these little nuggets of detail in the various landscapes, dungeons, sewers, and crypts.  One of the things I like to do is to speculate about any potential meaning these discoveries could have.  In this particular instance, the banner has five symbols embroidered into it.  The top and bottom symbol appear to be the same design (some type of a shield or tombstone maybe?), the second and fourth symbol appear to be same design as well (some sort of a cross), and the middle symbol is unique and tends to stand out and king of reminds me of a sun or source of holy light.

As I saw this, I wondered if this could somehow represent the whole reason why we are down here exploring this tomb, the Duality.  As you progress through the Catacombs story arc, you learn that the Duality is a belief to involves transitioning from life to the undead.  Gerard Dryden had been studying on this process and became obsessed with it.  I’m wondering if the markings on the banner reflect the “dual” purposes of existence, life and death, and need to preserve that balance by the power of light.  I can easily see the symbols that represent shields/tombstones to represent the dead while the cross type figures could easily represent the living.  The yellowish symbol in the center of the banner could easily be what keeps everything in balance and might represent that light/holy power.

Then again, maybe I just making too much of a simple banner.  I didn’t pay much more attention to see if this banner appears in all of the other rooms or not but this one did catch my eye.  Thanks for reading everybody and happy questing!!

3 thoughts on “Taking Note of an Interesting Banner in the Crypt of Gerard Dryden

  1. Pingback: Any Hidden Messages with the Skulls in the Sanctuary? | Erdrique's Blog

  2. Pingback: Some More Interesting Banners | Erdrique's Blog

  3. Pingback: Now That is a Familiar Banner | Erdrique's Blog

Leave a Reply

