Getting the Hang of the Challenges

Erdrique (Level 7 Rogue) is currently working through heroic true reincarnation chain.  During this particular life, I decided that I wanted to play around with some gear from the Cannith Challenge Quests.  In particular, I decided to gather up a Ring of the Stalker and the belt Spare Hands and planned on upgrading them through the levels.  So just before I heroic true reincarnated Erdrique I ran some some of the lower level Cannith Challenges and got him a level 4 Ring of the Stalker and Spare Hands.  I had also been running a few other challenges as well to get the minor guild renown elixirs for my various characters.  The primary challenges I had been running were Dr. Rushmore’s Mansion: Behind the Door, Extraplanar Palace: Buying Time, Lava Caves: Circles of Power, and Kobold Island: Kobold Chaos.

However, this weekend I noticed that I needed to run a few others that I either hadn’t run before or that I haven’t run since shortly after the challenges came out.  One of these Kobold Island: The Disruptor.  I needed this one to get the Necromantic Charms to upgrade the Level 4 Ring of the Stalker to Level 7.  So I brought in Lorrikk (Level 12 Monk) to see how this challenge progressed.  Luckily, I didn’t have too many issues.  My first run through was a little difficult because I didn’t realize that the giant skeletons were actually marked on the map.  This made my second run through much easier so challenge shouldn’t be a problem for.

 photo Lorrikk running around Kobold Island looking for the undead_zpsindfuun2.jpg
Lorrikk taking on the undead on Kobold Island.

The second challenge I needed to run was Lava Caves: Colossal Crystal.  This time I decided to bring on Hamllin (Level 16 Fighter) to see I could figure this particular challenge out.  I need the jaded scorpions out of this challenge to upgrade the Level 7 Ring of the Stalker to Tier 2.  I didn’t know much about this particular challenge but I did realize that I did do this at least once before because I did have some jaded scorpions in my inventory.  I popped into the Lava Caves and then started to hunt down the colossal crystals.  I quickly realized that this challenge is significantly more difficult than Circles of Power.  Although I found almost every dang crest, I never did come across a gateway for a colossal crystal.  So I failed in my first attempt.  I then looked on the DDOWiki to see that the colossal crystals are always in the same place, however the crests to unlock them are place at random.  I entered the challenge a second time with some help from Helltwister and this time I found one of the colossal crystals but I didn’t find a crest for the door until about 2 minutes left in the quest.  Needless to say, I failed again.

 photo Hamllin dealing with the wolves in Colossal Crystals_zpsqvxqtjgb.jpg
Hamllin looking for a colossal crystal in the Lava Caves.

I’m not sure I will be able to get the timing for the Lava Caves: Colossal Crystal down.  I’ll probably give it a few more shots.  It looks like the ingredients from Dr. Rushmore’s Mansion: Moving Targets can be traded for jaded scorpions (the illuminated manuscripts).  It also looks like Dr. Rushmore’s Mansion: Moving Targets is very similar to Dr. Rushmore’s Mansion: Behind the Door, at least with the primary objective, you just get a smaller amount of time to complete it in.  I might wind up having to go through this route instead.  We’ll see how it goes.  I might try running Colossal Crystal with a few other characters first so see what I can do.

In either case, I’m getting the hang of these challenges and look forward to plowing through them to get the Ring of the Stalker and the Spare Hands upgraded.  Thanks for reading everybody and happy hunting in those challenges!!

10 thoughts on “Getting the Hang of the Challenges

  1. From personal experience in this challenge I find it’s easier to go directly north from the entrance and get the crystal at the top of there (slightly to the east). The crest is usually findable in the first east passage from the start or at the top of that north run.

    Since the number of jade scorpions that you receive are based on the number of normal crystals you collect (iirc) and not the large crystals, I find the method Geoff detailed a while back works nicely to make sure you have a good haul http://www.gamergeoff.com/how-to-farm-time-is-money-epic25-with-any-level-20-character/

    Like

  2. An important note:
    You don’t need to upgrade the items through the levels. If you want the level 7 item you can make that, without making the level 4 and then upgrading (saves some ingredients too).

    Like

    • Yeah I knew that, but I didn’t want to have a bunch of the same item at various levels cluttering up my inventory. I’m already too much of a packrat :). Thanks for the tip tho!!

      Like

  3. Pingback: A Challenging Type Weekend, Questing April 24th to April 26th | Erdrique's Blog

Leave a Reply

