Liking the Change to Time Bomb

This past week was the first time I have had a chance to log in with Sludgge (Level 21 Rogue/Shadowdancer) since Update 25 was released.  Along with one of the most anticipated quests to be released, The Temple of Elemental Evil, Update 25 also brought with it a significant change to the rogue prestige enhancement lines.  Needless to say it had a significant effect on Sludgge.  Sludgge is primarily focused as a Mechanic.  One of the unique features of this prestige enhancement is the tier 5 enhancement, Time Bomb.  This particular enhancement involves placing a supercharge explosive at your feet and that then explodes in a spectacular fashion dealing damage to all your enemies within its blast radius.

The specific changes to Time Bomb are the following:
*    Cooldown set to 20 seconds
*    Animation for setting the bomb is quick
*    Time before it explodes has been reduced to two seconds
*    Saving throw against knockdown effect is now 10/14/18 per Rogue Level + Intelligence Modifier + Trap Bonus as the DC
*    Action point cost per rank was reduced to one

Shortly after I reset Sludgge’s enhancements I took him into the quest Into the Deep on Epic Normal to try these new things out.  Now I know I was on Epic Normal but I was still very impressed with the changes made to this enhancement.  The quickness in setting up the bomb was a great change.  The only issue I had was that it seemed to take a second or two after I stood back up to re-engage in melee combat.  However, what I really liked was the impressive change to the DC.  When the bomb explodes it deals 10/25/50 Sonic and 10/25/50 Fire damage per tier per rogue level to all nearby enemies.  This was a tremendous boost.  It wound up being an extremely effective crowd control for me as I would wait to have a party of sahuagin gathered around me and would simply drop a bomb and wait for the carnage.

 photo Liking the Time Bomb Changes_zpsgwk7asyv.jpg
Taking a look at Sludgge’s combat log, notice the 1,000 points of fire damage and 1,000 points of sonic damage per hit by Time Bomb’s explosion.

On nearly every set my Time Bomb was dealing 2,000 points of damage to all enemies that were around me.  In many instances this seemed to take the majority of the enemies out and if they didn’t get burned up they then simply fell over because they would fail their knockdown save.

 photo Enjoying the reeps of Time Bomb_zpswg9n410y.jpg
Looking at Sludgge’s combat log after a Time Bomb explosion and after the damage output to see how many creatures went down in a single blast.

Needless to say I was quite surprised and impressed by the change in this ability.  I had liked using time bomb in the past mainly because I thought it was fun to watch the animation go off and see a few things fall down but now it is an extremely useful tool :).

I’ll be curious to see how this works in other instances and quests.  Thanks for reading everybody and happy hunting!!

2 thoughts on “Liking the Change to Time Bomb

  1. Pingback: Another Diverse Week, Quest Runs April 20th to April 23rd | Erdrique's Blog

Leave a Reply

