I Hate it When That Happens!!

One of the things I take a little pride in is setting my DDO playing schedule.  I set my schedule so that I will spread out my play time across all of my characters and so that I can get some DDO adventuring in throughout the day.  I also try to make sure that the quests I have picked out for those particular runs that I can complete during my scheduled time frame.  However, there is always that chance that I misjudge the time it takes me to get through a quest or that I get side tracked and start the actual questing in DDO later than I would have liked.  This is what happened last night to me when I was taking Kolll (Level 22 Ranger/Shiradi Champion) through Haywire’s Foundry on Epic Hard.

On Monday’s night I have a weekly digital table top PNP game.  It is digital because our group is spread out from North Carolina, Virginia, Colorado, and Illinois.  So we play PNP D&D by using Skype and another free software program called Maptool.  Well, I always logged into DDO as well during those times so that I can do questing when it isn’t my turn.  This generally slows down my questing in DDO greatly but I’m still typically able to get through whatever I had planned for the night.  The problem I ran into last night though was that our PNP group had finally gotten out of stinky situation (literally as we had to climb our way out of a sewer) and rested up in town.  With our encounters previous to the sewer dive, we had gathered quite a bit of equipment and loot to sell.  Not to mention that one of my characters (we all play two characters) hit a new level.  As I was scrolling through my characters various loot items, I realized that this was going to take awhile.  It took nearly an hour and a half to figure out how much money I was going to get by selling my loot, transferring loot to my other party members, and then leveling my other character.  By this time, it was well after 11:00 pm, so I had less than an hour to try to get through Haywire’s Foundry.

 photo Kolll making some warforged dance_zpskttjrn6a.jpg

Kolll starting to make his way through Haywire’s Foundry.

I went ahead and gave it a shot anyway.  I took Kolll and his makeshift party of hirelings into the quest.  I had a level 22 favored soul hireling, my onyx panther, and my level 17 owlbear.  I was quite impressed at how well I was doing with them, even with being distracted by my PNP game.  I took Kolll and his party through each side of Haywire’s Foundry and was able to open up the access path to the center of the Foundry and I had started to make my way to the rune wheels which has the key to the large battle with the Master Unit and his fellow constructs.  However, buy the time I started up that path it was just after midnight.  I had no choice but to call it a night.  So although I didn’t get killed I had to call it a night without a completion :(.  I did some get experience though from some of the optionals.  I will just have to take Kolll through their next time and make sure he finishes it :).  In any case, I just hate it when I run out of time mid-quest and am forced to recall before I’m able to complete the quest.  At lease I didn’t get killed though :).

Thanks for reading everybody and happy hunting!!

One thought on “I Hate it When That Happens!!

Leave a Reply

