Questing Despite Lag and Downtime, Quest Runs Aug 17 to Aug 20

Well this was definitely an abnormal week for me in DDO and for DDO in general.  The large lag issues early in the week and then the extended downtime on yesterday definitely had an impact on my game play sessions but even with those occurring I still was able to make a lot of progress in the questing activities in a few of my characters.  In these instances, they were primarily on some of my lower and mid-level players.  To start things off, I took Harrgon (Level 11 Favored Soul) into the beautiful Three Barrel Cove for some slayer runs.  Harrgon is making his way through those 1,500 slayers and I’m hoping he will be able to reach that mark relatively soon.  He also still needs one more rare out there, after he took out Scortchtusk.  Later that afternoon, I logged on with Hamllin (Level 16 Fighter) and I took him through the desert like resort island, Ataraxia’s Haven.  Hamllin still has a little ways to go before he reaches his mark out there.  That night, while also playing our digital PNP game, I logged on with Crawlller (Level 6 Ranger) and I took him through the rest of the Catacombs Story Arc on hard including Setting the Wards: Patriarch’s Crypt, Endgame: Marguerite, and Endgame: The Archbihop’s Fate.  I then restarted the story arc on elite and completed The Friar’s Niece, To Find a Witness, The Old Archives, and The Crypt of Gerard Dryden.  Crawlller now just needs the Setting the Wards and Endgame quests to have this arc complete on elite, which is good because if feels like he has been working on those quests for a long time.  I logged out after taking Crawlller through the Crypt of Gerard Dryden and as we finished up our PNP session.

 photo Harrgon taking note of Scotchtusk_zpsox76tqhd.jpg

Harrgon stumbling upon Scortchtusk in Three Barrel Cove.

 photo Hamllin taking on the Duergar in Ataraxias Haven_zpsstu7ef0l.jpg

Hamllin fighting the duergar in the caves of Ataraxia’s Haven.

 photo Crawlller fighting a wight in the Patriarchs Crypt_zpsdwly8hca.jpg

Crawlller looking to ward the crypts in the Patriarch Crypt.

 photo Crawlller dealing with the swarm of undead_zpsow1b9lfg.jpg

Crawlller making his way up through the Catacombs.

 photo Arkasic needs to be destroyed_zpssvg2rh56.jpg

Crawlller taking down Arkasic Dryden.

 photo Looking for Marguerite_zpsvfxxloby.jpg

Crawlller looking for signs of Marguerite.

 photo Looking for a witness_zpsta2bfeqq.jpg

Crawlller returning to the Sanctuary to find a witness to the carnage.

 photo Preparing to enter the librar archives_zpsxgnsidgg.jpg

Crawlller looking back at the library after completing the Old Archives.

 photo Battling in the Crypt of Gerard Dryden_zpsksm5hof1.jpg

Crawlller making his way through the crypt of Gerard Dryden.

Tuesday, I didn’t log in first thing in the morning.  I had woken up too late that morning and overslept.  When I got home, for my afternoon run, I took Erdrique (Level 16 Rogue) through the start of the Attack on Stormreach Chain, Assault on Summerfield.  Erdrique made his way through that burning district and liberated the citizens from the invading Droaam force relatively easily.  Later that night, I logged on with Cantlin (Level 12 Sorcerer) and I took him through a slayer run in Sorrowdusk Isle to make up for missing my play time with him in the morning.  After that, I then logged on with Larrs (Level 21 Bard/Fatesinger) who I was scheduled to take through Storm the Beaches on epic normal.  It was really during this particular run that the lag issues started to show up for me.  I ran into a few situations where I was having some issues during the run being able to move and enter combat.  I was eventually hit by an unsuspecting ballistae bolt which ended that quest run for the night.  I’m going to have to him back out to Mistral Island to get my revenge!!

 photo Erdrique battling the Droaam forces in Summerfield_zpsobodnbyk.jpg

Erdrique fighting off the Droaam forces in Assault on Summerfield.

 photo Cantlin firing up some ogres in Sorrowdusk_zpssmqce0br.jpg

Cantlin finishing off an ogre in the Sorrowdusk Isle.

 photo Larrs was blasted_zpskux2hvzu.jpg

Larrs having a tough time in Storm the Beaches.

On Wednesday, before the hotfix was put in place, I took Larrs back out into Ruins of Gianthold.  Larrs nearly has his 1,500 slayers in the Stormfist camp.  I believe once I get that mark, I will take Larrs out into Evenigstar to start the King’s Forest.  I didn’t get a chance to log on that afternoon and the rest of the day was my weekly date night so that was all of my question for the day.

 photo Larrs taking on the Loremaster in Gianthold_zps2onorqvj.jpg

Larrs collecting more slayers in Stormfist.

Now Thursday was also problematic.  I was able to take Containment (Level 6 Cleric) through a circuit of Tangleroot Gorge.  When I got home from work, the servers were still down for the fix so I didn’t get a chance to log in until around 10:30 pm or so.  I logged with Harrgon and I was quickly joined with Hellspierced.  We took a few of the level 5 and 6 quests I still needed to completed for favor including Archer Point Defense, Lair of Summoning, Forgotten Caverns, Ruined Halls, and Gladewatch Outpost.  I also knocked out a run through The Chamber of Insanity while Hellspierced was hunting in the Red Fens.

 photo Containment lighting up a hobgoblin_zpsg6ve5jsb.jpg

Containment hunting in Tangleroot Gorge.

 photo Harrgon flaming away in Archer Point Defense_zpsusquhou2.jpg

Harrgon bringing down some fire in Archer Point Defense.

 photo Harrgon catching up to Hell in Lair of Summoning_zpswbrinteb.jpg

Harrgon catching up to Hellspierced in the Lair of Summoning.

 photo Harrgon taking out the undead in Chamber of Insanity_zpseqk3dczr.jpg

Harrgon fighting the undead in the Chamber of Insanity.

 photo Harrgon and Hell fighting the trolls in Forgotten Caverns_zpstb531dbg.jpg

Fighting the trolls in the Forgotten Carverns.

 photo Fighting the enemies in Ruind Hall_zpsju1rpqcv.jpg

Harrgon and Hellspierced hitting up the gargoyles in the Ruined Halls.

 photo Harrgon taking on the hobgoblins in Gladewatch_zpsgys5tacx.jpg

Harrgon preparing for the assault on Gladewatch Outpost.

So, even with the downtime, I still had quite a productive week.  I’m disappointed with how well I did with Larrs in Storm the Beaches.  I’ll definitely have to work better on that quest.  I also plan on making up my “missed run” from Thursday afternoon this weekend, which was supposed to be Undermine.  I hope everybody else had a great week, despite the downtime issues and I hope everybody else has a great weekend!  Thanks for reading everybody and happy hunting!!

One thought on “Questing Despite Lag and Downtime, Quest Runs Aug 17 to Aug 20

Leave a Reply

