Some Tough Runs This Week, Questing August 24 to August 27

Over this past week, my quest runs ranged from the level 7 to 23.  However, I had to runs in particular that pretty much defined the week for me, a run through Haywire’s Foundry on epic hard and another run through Against the Demon Queen on heroic elite.  To start out the week, I took Lorrikk (Level 12 Monk) out into Sorrowdusk Isle for some slayer runs.  I currently have a number of characters that are currently stalled at Sorrowdusk Isle.  Lorrikk is steadily collecting his slayers and I’m hoping to push him through the rest relatively soon.  We’ll see how well that goes.  I missed my afternoon run but took advantage of of my time while I was logged into our digital PNP game session and I logged in with Erdrique (Level 17 Rogue) and I took him through the tricky quest Undermine on elite.  This particular run was the beginning of my rough week questing, as I was killed, unexpectedly by a champion gnoll war priest.  But I did raise myself up and did power my way back through the quest for a completion.  I then reviewed my schedule and saw that I was planning on running Kolll (Level 22 Ranger/Shiradi Champion) that night so I logged out with Erdrique and back in with Kolll.  Kolll is currently working on the Vault of Night series on epic hard and the last time I had him on I had attempted to make my way through Haywire’s Foundry on epic hard.  I had decided to try it again.  The last time I had tried to completed VON 4, I had run out of time.  I didn’t have any issues, it just took me too long.  So this time, I decided to try to move through the quest a little more quickly.  I had already lost time because I had logged on with Erdrique first so that didn’t help my situation either.  Well, this time I didn’t fair as well with Kolll as I took him into the Haywire’s Foundry on epic hard.  I was a little more reckless than I should have been and was killed as I was making my way out of room with the second lever to open up the rest of quest.  It was getting late as well so I didn’t chance to complete it again.  I will have to make sure I devote enough time to this run in the future.  So that closed out my night on Monday.

 photo Lorrikk fighting ogres in Sorrowdusk_zpsjozsd9i3.jpg

Lorrikk fighting the ogres in Sorrowdusk Isle.

 photo Erd attacking Rhyolite_zpsvabyncax.jpg

Erdrique dealing with some huge and powerful earth elementals in Undermine.

 photo Kolll fighting the Lightning Guard Golem in VON 4_zpsvbwagyzx.jpg

Kolll taking down the lightning guards in VON 4.

On Tuesday, I started a morning slayer run with Crawlller (Level 7 Ranger) who I discovered needed to go through a quick level up after some slayers out in Tangleroot Gorge.  After Crawlller collected some slayers out there and after I leveled him up I logged out and didn’t log back into until later on that night.  I had missed my afternoon run again but since I was scheduled to take Hamllin (Level 16) through Ataraxia’s Haven I decided to log in during my night play session to start things out on Tuesday night.  I collected some more slayers and all of the rares except for one with Hamllin, as he is currently missing the rust monster.  After I took Hamllin through a circuit of the Haven, I then logged on with Kanndar (Level 12 Paladin) who I was supposed to run that night.  Kanndar is working on the Necro II quests so I took him out into the Tomb of the Shadow Knight.  I didn’t have any issues out there but by the time I finished I only had a short amount of time left to play so I did some slayer runs through Sorrowdusk Isle where he picked up a few more rares and he only needs one more rare encounter, that being the gargoyle.  I then called it a night.

 photo Crawlller slaying the enemies in Tangleroot Gorge_zpsgct6ds0j.jpg

Crawlller continuing his hunting in Tangleroot Gorge.

 photo Hamllin resting in Ataraxias Haven_zpsgqf6cgkq.jpg

Time to relax in Ataraxia’s Haven.

 photo Kanndar fighting Mdjal_zpsihfstydv.jpg

Kanndar fighting the mummy in the Tomb of the Shadow Knight.

 photo Kanndar fighting Teargon in SI_zpslzhzj1ie.jpgKanndar coming across Teargon in Sorrowdusk Isle.

Wednesday was a good day for Erdrique.  However, before I played Erdrique, I had logged on with Berann (Level 8 Barbarian) and I took him further into Tangleroot Gorge for some slayers.  But the real highlight for me was on Wednesday afternoon.  I had originally planned on taking Erdrique out into the Ruins of Gianthold but decided I wanted to finish upgrading my Spare Hand and Ring of the Stalker so I ran through the Cannith Challenge Kobold Island: This Disruptor twice.  Those two runs gave me enough ingredients to complete my upgrade.  So as soon as I finished those two runs, I headed over finished those upgrades.  I then called it a night because Wednesday is my weekly date night with my wife.  I look forward to taking Erdrique out into the Gianthold over the weekend though to see his new stuff in action.

 photo Berann surrounded by spiders_zpsnvi3czlv.jpg

Berann getting surrounded by spiders in Tangleroot Gorge.

 photo Erd taking out the scavengers for parts_zps5fxxsog2.jpg

Erdrique taking out some thieving kobolds on Kobold Island.

 photo Erd making his way to activate an extractor_zpsrk7xbrkh.jpg

Erdrique heading over to start an extractor in Kobold Island: This Disruptor.

Now Thursday was a little rough.  I started the day by taking Rimuldar (Level 23 Wizard/Magister) out into the dark woods of the King’s Forest to battle some drow invaders.  My afternoon run went smoothly, as I took Hamllin through another circuit of Ataraxia’s Haven.  The most interesting run, and the most troublesome, of the week was with Hamllin later that night.  I was scheduled to play Hamllin on Thursday night and I had planned on completing Against the Demon Queen on elite.  I had some help with me, as Khamels was also flagged and needed the same quest on elite as well.  So we headed off into the Sands of Menechtarun and made our way to Queen Lailat’s court.  We made our way through the majority of the quest will little issues.  We had into some difficulty with the wildmen mages and we party wiped at that point but I released and came back in and the we cleared them out.  We went ahead and collected the optional slayers as well before opening the passage up to Lailat and the only other problem we had prior to fighting Lailat was forgetting about the dang traps in the mephit ward.  However, we didn’t wipe in those traps and we successfully blasted our way through the efreeties, flesh renders, and fire reavers to make it to Lailat.  We defeated her rhaksasha and her guards and then the real fun began.  We ran into multiple issues dealing with Lailat as she was constantly knocking myself and Khamels on our but.  We almost had her sent back to the hidden room when she finally took us out.  This was actually fortuitous.  It turns out that Khamels was experience capped because he had banked level 17 but was one point away from his 86th action point.  So he recalled and leveled up 17 to allow him to gain some experience and then he came back and summoned forth his owlbear.  He then got myself back up and I summoned my owlbear as well.  With our clerics and our owlbears we were able to send Lailat to the other room behind the throne room and then we teleported to her.  We then knocked her down to just a slither when she knocked us back down and we wiped again.  This time I released and came back in and teleported back to her with my owlbear and my cleric hireling to finish her off.  So, needless to say, it was a rough quest but I still got over 18,000 experience for the quest completion, even after entering twice.  It was definitely an interesting night.

 photo Rim and his gang taking on the drow in KF_zpses7wghwj.jpg

Rimuldar and his minions hunting in the King’s Forest.

 photo Hanny spoting a sneaking razor cat_zpstfwtchh2.jpg

Hamllin noting the razor cat trying to be sneaky in Ataraxia’s Haven.

 photo Hamllin takin down the scorrow_zps3izzie0w.jpg

Hamllin taking out some scorrow on his way to face off against Lailat.

 photo Nice longsword_zpsiqtjqkhu.jpg

Hamllin coming across a fine sword out of a stone jug in Against the Demon Queen and being hounded by an effreeti.

So, those were my runs this past week.  I hope everybody else had some exciting runs as well.  I also hope everybody has a great weekend.  Thanks for reading everybody and happy hunting!!

One thought on “Some Tough Runs This Week, Questing August 24 to August 27

Leave a Reply

