Necessary Evil of Character Maintenance and Scheduling

I have already written a couple of other times about the joys and tribulations of character maintenance (least fun part of DDO and ever lasting joy of maintenance).  The first time I talked about character maintenance was how I defined it and how I wished there was an outside application to manage it while not logged into the game while the second post was about how much time I lost due to a “backlog” of maintenance task.  This time, I wanted to talk about managing character maintenance with respect to scheduling and player time.  I’m pretty big on trying to set up schedules and rotations for my playing times as I believe that this will help me play all of characters on a frequent basis.  In the past, the first thing I would do when logging in was to clear up my mailbox.  No matter if I was doing a regular slayer run prior to heading out to work, or getting ready to do a short quest run shortly after work, or for a regular night gaming session, checking my mail was the first thing I always did.  However, I have been realizing more and more how much time I have been losing to this activity which could have been spent slaying monsters and gathering experience.  Especially in my morning slayer runs.  In the mornings, I typically try to log in around 6:30 am or so but I don’t typically get logged in until 6:40 am most mornings.  Once I get logged in, I then head over to the mail box, pull out whatever has been returned from expired auctions and then I head over to the crafting hall to breakdown whatever items have been returned.  I also post any auctions for items that I didn’t post from my questing activity from the last time I had played that character.  In many instances, by the time all of this is said and done, It’s usually around 6:55 am or later, which usually leaves me less than 10 minutes to collect some slayers since I try to logoff by 7:05 am to get to work.

 photo The Crawlers fighting in Madstone_zpsm4swr3ip.jpg

Looking for ways to do more of this instead of battling with my character maintenance needs!!

So, I think I’m going to try something a little new.  I’m going to do my best to ignore that little mail notification icon that appears on the focus orb and save my mail “processing” until the weekend.  Mail doesn’t expire until over four weeks (and returned auctions never get deleted, unless you open up the mail and don’t pull the item from it).  So with this in mind, I’m going to wait until the weekend to “clean up” everybody’s mail and daily grindy maintenance tasks.  I believe that by cleaning up all of my character’s maintenance tasks during the weekend will allow me to gain more questing time in game.  I will still probably pull any auctions that sell because that is quick and dirty and doesn’t require any loss of time besides opening up the mail notification and pulling the money out.  I might run into problems with Erdrique and Hamllin though.  I play those characters much more often than my others, so I can see their mail actually “clogging” up.  This will prevent me from posting auctions until it is cleared up.  However, I’m not sure if this will be a problem yet or not.  It will be an interesting experiment and I’ll be curious to see how it goes.  I decided to start it this weekend.  I figure if I can break up my characters into thirds, then I can catch my maintenance tasks for a third of my characters on Friday night after questing, a third of my characters on Saturday throughout the day and after questing, and the last third on Sunday by logging in throughout the day and dealing with maintenance prior to my regular schedule runs.

I’m hoping this will allow me to get more questing done in the mornings and allow me to hit up my afternoon quests earlier.  It should be an interesting experiment.  So here goes another try at dealing with the character maintenance, the necessary evil!!  Thanks for reading everybody and happy hunting!!

One thought on “Necessary Evil of Character Maintenance and Scheduling

Leave a Reply

