Finally Found a Spot Item

While taking Erdrique (Level 20 Rogue/Fury of the Wild) through this particular life, I have been relying quite a bit on the Cannith Crafting system, the Cannith Challenge gear, and his previously acquired equipment fromhis previous lives.  This was working fabulously 🙂 until I hit level 15.  At this point I needed to find a way to get a +15 Spot and a +15 Search item.  In Cannith Craftng, the current system only allows you to craft up to +13 with respect to skills.  At first, I didn’t really think this was going to be an issued.  I figured I would just find a random loot generated item for both of these skills.  Boy, how wrong was I…

From levels 15 to 20 I was constantly scouring the auction house and vendors and was amazed on how much difficulty I was having in finding a +15 Spot and Search item.  I didn’t remember this being an issue before and I’m not entirely sure what to chalk this up to.  My best guess is that most of the gaming effort at the moment is at the epic levels or well below the mid-teen levels and therefore folks aren’t posting the appropriate level items I was looking far because they weren’t through those quests.  Another possibility is that people are just selling these items to general vendors and not brokers or perhaps even breaking them down in the crafting halls.  In any case, I was struggling to find a +15 Spot and Search item.

But, a solution came around recently with the latest run of the Crystal Cove :).  Whenever the Crystal Cove is turned on, I always take the opportunity to run some characters through it.  I don’t typically grind it but I do run it as much as I can because it isn’t something you can do all of the time and I really enjoy running around Smuggler’s Rest and the quest.  As a result, I only have a few pieces of the gear that you can get out of the Cove.  Well, with this iteration, I decided to see if I could get the Treasure Hunter’s Spyglass.  Luckily, I had enough to shards and gems to level 20 version of the Treasure Hunter’s Spyglass and raise up it to Tier 2.  So now, I have a +20 Spot and Search skill item on a single piece of equipment.

 photo Battling Jack Jibbers_zpsshvvsaag.jpg

Erdrique making his way through the Crystal Cove and gathering what he needs for the Treasure Hunter’s Spyglass.

Now, I have to do some reconfiguring, at least a little bit.  The Treasure Hunter’s Spyglass is a trinket, which was previously slotted with my Bloodstone.  However, I have have the Ring of the Stalker equipped and I plan on upgrading it soon (as soon as I can take Erdrique into the epic version of the Cannith Challenges) which will account for the Seeker +6 I lose with the Bloodstone (but really its only a lost +2 Seeker because my current Ring of the Stalker has +4 Seeker on it).  By equipping the Treasure Hunter’s Spyglass it will also open up my helmet slot, which was previously for my spot item.  So now I get to play around and see what I can find now :).

In any case, I’m glad I was able to finally find an appropriate Spot and Search item!!  Now time to track down an appropriate helmet!!  Thanks for reading everybody and happy hunting in DDO!!

5 thoughts on “Finally Found a Spot Item

Leave a Reply

