The Dual Box Save

Over the past two weeks or so, I have been taking the opportunity to dual box my VIP and Premium accounts.  If you aren’t sure what “dual boxing” is, it is simply playing two different accounts at the same time.  It is also called “multi-boxing.”  The primary reason I wanted to do this was to help in my questing efficiency with some of my characters.  In particular, I figured it would save me time by having two characters of similar level across these accounts gathering slayers and completing quests on elite (saving a lot of time for my premium characters who would not have to run them on normal, hard, and elite to obtain the maximum amount of favor).  I was doing this fairly often a year or so ago and then kind of faded out of it for reasons I can’t remember.  I believe the problem was that I didn’t have any characters on VIP account that were within the same level range as those on my premium account.  However, this is no longer the situation as my premium characters: Stoorage (Fighter) who level 12, Suppply (Paladin) who level 9, Crawlller (Ranger) and Containment (Cleric) being level 7 can pair up quite well with Cannock (Druid Level 7), Berann (Barbarian Level 8), Cantlin (Sorcerer Level 12), Kanndar (Level 12 Paladin), Lorrikk (Monk Level 13), and Harrgon (Favored Soul Level 11) who are characters on my VIP account.  So I should be able to dual box with these characters for a little while.

However, something a little unexpected happened last night while I was dual boxing with Kanndar and Stoorage.  I had taken them into the Necropolis to tackle the Tomb of the Shadow Lord and Tomb of the Shadow King on elite when I ran into an interesting situation.  I took them through the Shadow Lord without any major issues at all (and noted that another plus to dual boxing here is that it allowed be to do quests that requires a split with the party a little easier).  However, in Tomb of the Shadow King I had some complications.  Since I was scheduled to play Kanndar last night, I was primarily playing him and advancing him through the quest when he gathered just a little too much attention while making it to one of the torches.  When I got Kanndar to the torch he had gathered a small army or shadows, wraiths, specters, umbral worgs, umbral gargoyles, and phase spiders.  To make it worse, I had the named phase spider Dimmet.  Well, Kanndar was overwhelmed, I basically underestimated how many enemies I had to deal with (or course once I noticed the orange dungeon alert it should have dawned on me).

 photo Kanndar being swarmed in Shadow King_zpsr1yrbqhr.jpg

Kanndar making his way through the Shadow King before he got in over his head.

The benefit I inadvertently discovered is that I can use my second account to bail out my primary account.  As I pondered what happened to Kanndar, I realized I still had Stoorage in the dungeon.  I then switched over to Stoorage and made my way to where Kanndar had perished and retrieved his stone as well as his hireling’s stone and made my way to the shrine where I raised Kanndar and his hireling back up.  I then switched back to Kanndar and was able to complete the quest primarily playing him.

So, I guess you can say I was saved by dual boxing.  It kept me from having to recall, hreal up, and rush back to the quest to avoid it being reset.  I never really considered this to be a primary benefit of dual boxing but I do now :).  Thanks for reading everybody and happy hunting!!

3 thoughts on “The Dual Box Save

Leave a Reply

