Taking a Look at the Underdark

The last time I was in the Underdark was before I put Hamllin (Level 17 Fighter) through his heroic true reincarnation.  And even then, I didn’t really get a chance to explore the area very much.  Even when I took Hamllin out into Sschindylryn for the first time, I teleported him from the King’s Forest to get to the portal to Sschindylryn relatively quickly with some guildies.  So I haven’t had the opportunity to venture into the Underdark all that much, until now :).  Rimuldar (Level 23 Wizard/Magister) is ready to start tackling his next set of quests which are those in Sschindylryn.  Since I haven’t explored much of the Underdark, I decided to take Rimuldar through the route via Eveningstar to get to the Sschindylryn portal instead of heading into the King’s Forest and using that portal route and I must say it was quite an experience.

 photo Encountering a Salamander Firebrand in the Underdark_zpsrnd7mau8.jpg

Rimuldar coming across a salamander in the Underdark.

The Underdark is a fun and exciting area, so I found out :).  I really liked the overall feel and “explorability” of this adventure area.  I thought the various caverns and paths were designed quite well.  I did wind up getting lost a number of times as I noticed that the area had several different levels to it, which I didn’t expect.  Of course getting lost in the Underdark shouldn’t be too surprising, it is the Underdark after all.  It took me the entire game session to find the portal to Sschindylryn but I did find it thankfully!!  Now the portal will show up for me when I enter the Eveningstar Cavern, which will be nice.

 photo Rim spying the Yuan-ti above him_zpsfkgrzmyy.jpg

Rimuldar noticing the yuan-ti above him.

 photo Drow and the Yuan-ti dont get along_zps984chnjt.jpg

I get the impression that the drow don’t like the yuan-ti.

While exploring down in the Underdark, I came across a number of interesting sites.  I came across a large number of ledges that had enemies perched well above me, which made things quite interesting.  I then stumbled upon the large waterfall as well as a large pool or lake of acid.  I also came across two other portals as well, including the portal that leads to the King’s Forest and the Riz Malog portal.

 photo Coming across the underground waterfall_zpsdz1rgt48.jpg

Coming across the waterfall in the Underdark and some yuan-ti.

 photo Interesting Portal_zpsniacvv7g.jpg

Finding a portal in the Underdark.

 photo Nice acid pool in the Underdark_zps4buef07j.jpg

Coming across a pool of acid in the Underdark.

The enemies I encountered were nothing I didn’t expect as well.  Coming across the numerous drow and yuan-ti was nothing knew but what did surprise me was coming across the purple worms.  Now don’t get me wrong, I knew purple worms were in the Underdark and remember watching the preview video of the purple worm well before Menace of the Underdark was released.  However, I didn’t quite realize the scale of the purple worm with reference to our characters.  Seeing that monstrosity jump up from the ground was quite fun and surprising.  I had a fun time battling my first purple worm but was more prepared when I came across many more.  I also found it interesting that some of the purple worms were “split” where I was battling their tails as well.  Talk about pretty cool!!

 photo Encountering a Purple Worm_zpsxqnch0nl.jpg

Well that is a surprising sight, what a monster!

 photo Vicious Maul of the purple worm_zpsnsc71wsd.jpg

Take a look at the vicious maw of the purple worm.

 photo Watch out for the tail_zpsmkuyy85p.jpg

Dealing with both ends of the dangerous purple worm.

I also did come across a few other rare encounters as well.  The other monsters I ran into included some elementals (earth and air), mind flayers, draegloth, animated armors, and salamanders.  I also came across a few “slaves” that mercifully burned away :(.

 photo Coming across Hastrun in Underdark_zpsgvzdyr3h.jpg

Coming across a powerful named drider in the Underdark.

So this experience through the Underdark was quite interesting and fun.  I really enjoyed this area.  I will have to get a few more characters to complete their explorer zones so that I can venture more into it.  Definitely a fun and dangerous area!!  Thanks for reading everybody and happy hunting in the Underdark!!

One thought on “Taking a Look at the Underdark

Leave a Reply

