Complications in the Den

Erdrique (Level 22 Rogue/Fury of the Wild) is making his way through the rest of his heroic quests before really starting his epic questing.  I currently have some level 17 quests to finish on elite and then all of those from level 18 and 19.  One of these quests includes the quest called In the Demon’s Den.  In the Demon’s Den is a level 18 quest on normal, making it a level 20 quest on elite.  I had planned on working on this quest yesterday afternoon after work, so I took Erdrique into the the Inspired Quarter section of the Harbor and popped on it.  The quest isn’t part of the Inspired Quarter story chain and is instead a stand alone quest that is bestowed by an agent of the Silver Flame named Uriel.  As we come across Uriel, we learn that a powerful demon has come to Xen’drik and plans on completing some type of ritual that will make it invulnerable.  Uriel tells you that the Silver Flame failed in stopping this ritual and happens to be a farshifter and asks if she can send us to into the wilds of Xen’drik to take care of this problem.

Although this quest has been around for quite some time, I have only run it once or twice.  In fact, I don’t think I have actually ever completed it.  I know that I attempted it twice with Garrrin (Level 23 Barbarian/Fury of the Wild) back when he was level 19 or 20.  I believe he was trying it in normal or hard at the time.  In any case, I never did complete it and I didn’t quite remember everything that needed to be done.  Just to give some background, as soon as you enter the quest and make your way forward into the area, you will come across a large and powerful marilith named Aurora the Wicked.  Now one thing I knew from the last time I was in the quest was that three efreetis (also red named) needed to be destroyed in order to stop the ritual and in order to defeat Aurora.  These three efreetis are located in three different areas of the map.  On normal, I remember that the efreetis could be killed one at a time.  So I took Erdrique into the map and dragged the marilith throughout the zone.  When I encountered an efreeti I would destroy it and move on to the next one.  Now there should have only been three efreetis to worry about.  However, shortly after I killed the first efreeti, I noticed the dungeon master text stating that another efreeti had been called into the zone by Aurora.

 photo Erdrique exploring the Demons Den_zpsx75qgtxh.jpg

Erdrique looking for the demon and the ritual chamber inside the quest, In the Demon’s Den.

After taking out another 5 or 6 efreetis I decided to call it an afternoon.  Keep in mind that I was also avoiding Aurora many attacks at the same time.  I couldn’t figure out why the efreetis weren’t “staying” dead.  Because they efreetis kept being summoned, the protective aura around Aurora never came down for a long time and she would heal up all of her injuries.  I then looked up the quest in the DDOwiki.  It turns out that on elite, the three efreetis need to be destroyed within about 30 seconds of each other.  Otherwise Aurora keeps calling forth more.  Once the three efreetis are killed, within the time limit, Aurora won’t call any more.  So I need to do one of two things.  One, see if I can drag all three efreetis together in a central location and attack them simultaneously or gather a large enough group to take on the three efreetis individually and time their take downs.

This should be interesting.  If I’m lucky I can get back to this over the weekend.  I’m not sure if the efreetis have some type of leash or not but I want to get through it now!!  We’ll see how it goes.  Thanks for reading everybody and happy hunting In the Demon’s Den!!

4 thoughts on “Complications in the Den

  1. Did it on my barb a few days ago.
    It is a easy quest tbh and the efreeti dont have a leash, i pulled 2 with me towards the 3rd one and killed them on the spot.

    It is annoying that even if you can pull them trough all the place, if they lose sight of you for a few seconds they will slowly head to their starting point, so you have to go reeeeealy slow with them and slower still on the many turns of the halls.

    It is a place where you want at least 1 more person who know what to do. Having 2 more (or 3 to tank her) to coordinate and kill the efreeti at same time is just dreaming.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: Enjoying the Dual Boxing, Quest Runs October 26 to October 29 | Erdrique's Blog

Leave a Reply

