Questing in Rest Stop

Earlier in the week, I took a look at the quest Rest Stop with Erdrique (Level 22 Rogue/Fury of the Wild) on heroic elite.  Rest Stop is one of the quests within the High Road of Shadows quest chain.  I hadn’t taken any character in it before so it was a completely knew experience for me.  The quest giver is Freda Gambosi, another Harper agent, located in Eveningstar not far from the cart that takes you to the High Road.  The quest entrance isn’t far from where you enter the High Road.

The one thing I found really cool about this quest was its setting.  The reason why the quest is called “Rest Stop” is because the setting for the quest is in the ruins of an old castle.  Evidently these ruins are commonly used by adventurers as a “rest stop” between their various questing adventures.  However, it also appears that the Netherese are hiding one of the Nether Scroll pieces somewhere in this expansive castle.

The atmosphere of the quest is quite medieval.  The castle is elegantly and beautifully designed and makes me wonder about the old castles from the Medieval European settings.  That is something I want to do is to visit some of those ancient structures and wonder how life must have been like during those times.  This quest gave me that sensation which I really enjoyed.  The enemies you encounter in here are nothing too noteworthy.  Of course you encounter the Netherese and their hired help as well as there umbral pets and shadows.  The traps consist primarily of spellwards.

What really makes this quest funny, or at least ironic, is that the entrance way to the castle is filled with would-be adventurers and explorers.  As you talk to them, you realize they don’t have a clue on what is going on here and what is even more funny is that one of them thinks they can get further into the castle then the few rooms they initially see when they enter.  Nobody takes the time to explore the fact that hallway with the torches, that hasn’t been used, could be a potential secret passage that is revealed by pulling the torch.  It was the first thing I thought of anyway and I’m by no means an experienced adventurer :).

Erdrique thinking about removing the torch just to see.

The overall length of the quest was a little bit longer than I had expected for a quest of “medium” duration.  I didn’t find it too hard and although you are traveling through a brick and mortar castle, it is pretty straight forward.  I did think that the optional to ability to disable and destroy the Netherese staves was pretty interesting.  I was only able to get one of them, as I used the bear trap on it.  The others I couldn’t get so I wasn’t able to complete that optional.

Overall, the quest fun and I really enjoyed its theme.  We don’t have a whole of quests that occur in a true castle, so it was a nice change of pace.  Thanks for reading everybody and happy hunting in the HIgh Road.

One thought on “Questing in Rest Stop

Leave a Reply

