Disappointing Weekend, Quest Runs December 4th to December 6th

Well, I must say that I don’t have a set of runs that are very disappointing very often in DDO.  However, this past weekend just happened to be one of those rare occasions.  The weekend started out quite well.  Friday morning, I took Berann (Level 9 Barbarian) and Containment (Level 7 Cleric), dual boxing, into Tangleroot Gorge for some slayer runs.  I then continued with some questing in the afternoon after I got home from work and took Erdrique (Level 23 Rogue/Primal Avatar) through the quest Reclaiming Memories out in the Isle of Forgotten Dreams.  That run went really well.  My disappointing runs didn’t start until Friday night.  I logged on with Erdrique and this time I took him back out into Eveningstar and into the Storm Horns.  For there, I made my way to the quest, A Break in the Ice and had a fun time going through the glacier to find Rungnir and to watch him then attack me.  After completing the quest I forwarded the chain and was set on the path to What Goes Up.  So I re-entered the Storm Horns and made the trek to the quest entrance to the capstone of the Storm Horns.  Now, this is where the disappointments began.  I entered What Goes Up on heroic elite, making it a level 21 quest, and made my way through the first segment of the quest and then started into the second segment of the quest after you find Oriphaun and was surprised by the Shadar-ki assassins.  After some maneuvering, I was able to get past them and into the third segment of the quest where you enter onto the floating glacier.  Now this is where I ran into some real problems.  First off, I underestimated the number of enemies on this floating rock and was actually overwhelmed and had to get raised back up.  I eventually made my way to the end fight, where I eventually realized that all of the Shadar-ki respawn and that the floating pillars need to be destroyed.  I was too focused on fighting the end boss and before I knew it, all of my available resources were blown on respawning mobs.  At that point, things didn’t end so well.  I was in the quest for so long, that I had to call it a night.

Berann and Containment returning to the One-eared Bugbear Inn from a trek into Tangleroot Gorge.

Erdrique making his way through the quest Reclaiming Memories.

Erdrique exploring a glacier while looking for a rogue frost giant.

Finally locating Oriphaun in What Goes Up.

On Saturday, I tried it again.  I went back to the Storm Horns and start the quest What Goes Up once again.  This time, I had issues with the first two segments of the quest at all and made it to the last fight in the third segment without any major issues at all.  However, the end fight itself didn’t go so well.  This time I ignored the respawning Shadar-ki as much as I could, and the ice elementals, and took down the four flight pillars.  I was then surprised to see another objective come up to defeat some Shadovars.  This is where I started to run into some problems.  I had died once or twice before taking down the flight pillars but when I had to fight the Shadovars, I died multiple times.  At first, I would sneak up to each Shadovar.  While doing this, I would station my hirelings away from the top of the mountain and once I got to the Shadovar I would summon them to me and then commence to kill them.  I was successful doing this for two of the four Shadovar but I eventually suffered so many deaths that all of my equipment was broken and my ability to sneak and hide was compromised.  I also went through two quartstaves and didn’t have an adequate weapon to continue the fight.  I had recalled from the quest about three times to use the shrine in the Storm Horns in front of the quest as well.  After spending over three hours in there I had to call it a night.  It was a tough pill to swallow, especially since I new I only had two Shadovar left to kill and the end boss literally had just a sliver of life.  I had tried to finish him off as well, but he didn’t seem to be taking any more damage after a certain point.  Oh how disappointing!!

Erdrique making his way through the Storm Horns to the quest What Goes Up.

What a view from the floating glacier.

On Sunday, things went a little better.  I was scheduled to log in with Sludgge (Level 21 Rogue/Shadowdancer).  Sludgge recently finished running the Red Fens on epic normal so now I turned to the Vault of Night series and ran Tharashk Arena and The Prisoner on epic normal.  Both of those runs went quite well.  Which is what I needed after my horrible defeat on Saturday night :(.  I called it a night after I made it through the Prisoner.

Sludgge incinerating some ogres in the Tharashk Arena.

Sludgge battling the thaarak hounds in VON 2.

The weekend was also disappointing because I wasn’t able to get any extra quest runs in during the day on Saturday or Sunday.  The past few weeks I was able to get some slayers in or some challenges completed during the day but that just wasn’t the case this weekend.  Although the weekend was disappointing, I still made some progress so that is good :).  I hope everybody else had a great weekend and thanks for reading!!  Happy hunting in the Storm Horns everybody!!

5 thoughts on “Disappointing Weekend, Quest Runs December 4th to December 6th

  1. What Goes Up is notoriously brutal if you don’t have a plan for the end boss.. Who you can’t lol (as it sounds you learned rather painfully.. Ouch! 😦 ) until all three phases are complete (pillars, ice elementals, Shadovar plus some trash) are done. That’s a hard one to solo, but not impossible! It’s a load easier with a friend who can focus on keeping the trash contained while the other focuses on objectives.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Back to Being Productive, Quest Runs December 11th to December 13th | Erdrique's Blog

Leave a Reply

