Random Loot in Explorer Zones

The random loot changes have resulted in quite a wide variety of new items and also led to quite a bit of discussion as well as intrigue when our favorite characters open chests once again.  Some of the changes to random loot include the scaling of the loot from chests to be equivalent to the level of the dungeon you are working through.  However, I wondered how this applies to chests that drop in explorer zones.  I tend to run through explorer zones quite often so this could have some impact on me.

So far I have found some interesting things.  Lately I have been running Hamllin (Level 17 Fighter) through the Sands of Menechtarun.  The Sands of Menechtarun, also known as the “Desert”, has a level range of 8 to 15 to receive full experience while doing some questing out there.  The area is considered to be a level 11 explorer zone.  So how does the random loot scaling work in these areas?  Will you get random loot that has a level range of 8 to 15 or just level 11?  From what I can tell, it looks like you can get level 11 scaled loot.  One of the more fun things I have pulled recently out of the Desert was a belt that had +5 Strength,  +19 Spell Resistance, and a green augment slot.  Not a bad item at all.

Hamllin checking out the belt in the chest from the mephit.

Another thing I wondered about was how does the new level scaling of loot by quest level affect loot that drops from breakables.  From what I can tell, the loot from breakables also has the same scaling mechanic applied.  While running through a quick instance of Three Barrel Cove with Crawlller (Level 7 Ranger) I broke a barrel/crate and saw a +2 Shocking Greataxe of Deadly drop from it.  I don’t remember what the level of the greataxe was but I believe it was still within the level 5 range (which is the level of the heroic Three Barrel Cove zone). So the crates and barrels also seem to be dropping the appropriate scaled loot as well.

Crawlller checking out the greataxe that dropped from a crate/barrel in Three Barrel Cove.

In any case, it appears that the scaling of the loot that drops from explorer zones is based on its primary level and not on the range of levels where full experience is granted.  I look forward to making my way through the other explorer areas and seeing what other fun things I can find.

Thanks for reading everybody and happy hunting in the wilderness zones!!

One thought on “Random Loot in Explorer Zones

Leave a Reply

