Crunching Down the Numbers of My Monster Manual-Part 3

The first two articles I wrote about analyzing the data in the monster manual were primarily based on my entire VIP account.  The first article looked at the number of enemies my characters have defeated while my second article looked at often my characters suffered defeats.  Now I want to look more specifically  at the monster manual statistics for each of characters on my VIP account, starting with Erdrique.  There is no doubt that Erdrique is my favorite character and my main/primary character to play.  I was curious to see how his specific data matched up to data for my account as a whole.  I updated the data to do on February 22, 2016 (as I had originally wanted to publish this article on that date).  Keep this in mind if you happen to compare my tables in this article to my first article because they won’t match entirely.

So, like I did for my entire account, the first thing I wanted to see was how many enemies I have defeated and how they break down.  I also wanted to see how much Erdrique accounted for those monster kills across all of the characters on my VIP account.  Looking back at the trends across my account the top five monster types that my characters had slain were humanoids, undead, player races, vermin, and monstrous humanoids.  These differed slightly when looking at Erdrique’s top five which were humanoids, player races, undead, vermin, and animal (Table 1 and Figures 1 and 2).  I found these trends interesting.  I figured that since I play Erdrique much more frequently than my other characters that his trends would pretty much drive what I see for the entire account.  This doesn’t necessarily appear to be the case.  There is no doubt that the enemy kills Erdrique has acquired have helped determine the trends across my account but my other characters have also had quite a bit of influence.  This is most likely due to when the monster manual was released and its individual volumes and when my characters were created and played.  These trends are also influenced by Erdrique’s reincarnation cycles as well, especially when monster manual volumes with lower level monsters were released when Erdrique was higher in level and not facing them.  If you look at the percent number of monsters Erdrique has accounted for you see that his higher percentages are with higher level monsters and later editions of the monster manual volumes and the lower percentages are for monsters at lower levels.

Table 1.  Number of monster kills for Erdrique and my VIP account and the percent of kills attributed to Erdrique.

Figure 1.  Distribution of Erdrique’s monster kills by monster type from the monster manual.

Figure 2.  Erdrique’s and my account monster kills by monster type for those in the monster manual.

Focusing more on the trends for Erdrique, just like my trends account wide, I’m not entirely surprised to see which monsters have topped the list.  The monsters that are in the humanoid, player races, undead, vermin, and animal types are occur in almost every quests making their encounter rates much higher than those on the bottom of Erdrique’s monster type list.

Taking a broader look at my trends with Erdrique, I took a look at his enemy kills by monster manual volume as well.  Account wide, the number of monster kills by volume were ranked in the following order: Volume 1, Prologue, Volume 2, Volume 3, Volume 5, Volume 4, and Volume 6.  In contrast, the number of monsters kills by volume for Erdrique were the following: Prologue, Volume 1, Volume 2, Volume 5, Volume 3, Volume 4, and Volume 5 (Table 2 and Figure 3).  I know that some of these tends are driven by my obsession to maximize out slayer areas, including the Red Fens.  The Red Fens has an extraordinary amount of slayers (7,500 slayers) with the majority of enemies in that area being sahaugin, which are in the Prologue.  I also found it interesting to see how high Volume 5 is for Erdrique because when that came out he was working on clearing out the Restless Isles and on working in the quests in the Desert.  Volume 5 included ogres and scorrow allowing Erdrique to start accumulating those kills (nearly accounting for 40% of all my kills account wide).

Table 2.  Total monster kills for Erdrique and my VIP account by monster manual volume.

Figure 3.  Total monster kills for Erdrique and my VIP account by monster manual volume.

The trends in the number of monster kills by monster race wasn’t entirely too surprising for me.  Account wide, the top 10 races that accounted for monster kills were humans, skeletons, hobgoblins, kobolds, sahaugin, spiders, wolves, zombies, scorpions, and trolls.  Erdrique’s top ten were humans, skeletons, sahaugin, kobolds, spiders, wolves, hobgoblins, gnolls, scorpions, and mephits (Table 3 and Figure 4).  Although the order isn’t the same, eight of the monsters that were in Erdrique’s top ten were also in the top ten for my account.  Erdrique differed by having gnolls and mephits in his top ten as opposed to zombies and trolls.  Again, I attribute this to the timing of monster manual releases and the level Erdrique was in his reincarnation path at the time of the release.  Gnolls, for instance, are a large part of the desert and Erdrique was working in that area when that volume was released.

Table 3.  Total number of monster kills for Erdrique’s top ten, both for him and account wide, and the percent he accounted for.

Figure 4.  Number of monster kills for Erdrique’s top ten monster races (and the number of those for my account).

Taking a look at the opposite spectrum, the fewest number of monsters that have  fallen to my characters on my account by race are warforged titan, horned devil, liches, hellcats, stone golems, dragons, iron golems, yugoloth, clay golems, and quori.  For Erdrique it was warfogred titan, horned devils, liches, hellcat, stone golems, iron golems, dragons, clay golems, and hezrous (Table 4 and Figure 5).  As you can imagine, there is a lot of overlap here.  The quori are not on Erdrique’s list but this is primarily because he just recently moved through the Inspired Quarter and the Dreaming Dark, allowing him to account for the majority of the quori kills on my account.  I find it interesting that the hezerou were on his list instead.

Table 4.  Number of monster kills for the races that accounted for the fewest number of kills for Erdrique and account wide and the percent Erdrique accounted for those kills. (I noted that only had nine enemies here, the 10th for Erdrique was the Yugoloth).

Figure 5.  Number of monster kills for the races that accounted for the fewest number of kills for Erdrique.

The last thing I took a look at were the trends in the relative percent that Erdrique accounted for by monster race across my account.  I was curious to see which monsters Erdrique accounted for in terms of percent.  Looking at the top ten by percent of kills, Erdrique accounted for a high percentage (if not all) for warforged titan, hellcat, stone golem, succubus, dragons, liches, ice flenser, quori, abishai, and bearded devil (Table 5).  At the time I compiled the data, Erdrique accounted for 100% of all the kills for the warforged titan and hellcats.  On the opposite spectrum, by percent, the monsters deaths that Erdrique accounted for the least were elves, ghouls, spiders, troglodytes, skeletons, wraiths, ghasts, bugbears, hobgoblins, and minotaurs.  I found these trends interesting because although Erdrique has a large number of kills for these races, his over all contribution is low, relatively speaking, when accounting for the rest of my characters on my VIP account.  I’ll be curious to see what my other characters show.

Table 5.  The monster races that accounted for the highest proportion of monster kills for Erdrique and the number of kills he had and across my account.

Table 6.  The monster races that accounted for the fewest proportion of monster kills for Erdrique and the number of kills he had and across my account.

Some of the trends I noticed in the monster manual for Erdrique are easy to understand why others are quite surprising.  Thanks  for reading everybody and happy hunting those monsters in the monster manual!!

5 thoughts on “Crunching Down the Numbers of My Monster Manual-Part 3

  1. Pingback: Crunching Down the Numbers of my Monster Manual-Part 4 | Erdrique's Blog

  2. Pingback: Crunching Down the Numbers of My Monster Manual-Part 5 | Erdrique's Blog

  3. Kind of late, but I followed a link at the bottom of your most recent post so…

    Some things to consider when you compare your main with your other characters, and also when you look at the trends over time. If, like me, you started out f2p and only went VIP after playing ~4 months when I knew I would probably be playing the game for a long time, then you only had MM1 while you were f2p. Your ‘younger’ characters many have been rolled up at a point where you had access to more MMs, and thus they would have been able to rack up kills that your main might not have been able to at first.

    Also, Turbine has added a lot of monsters to the MMs and has added MMS as well over time, which skews the stats towards the lower numbered MMs and the monsters which were present before those added later.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Crunching Down the Numbers of My Monster Manual-Part 7 | Erdrique's Blog

Leave a Reply

