Questing the First Week of March, February 29th to March 3rd

Well, the first week of March was a special week since it kicked off the 10th anniversary celebration for DDO :).  The week actually began on the “leap” day, February 29th, and the day wound up being quite a unique data for my questing besides the fact that it was on a “leap” day.  It was unusual in that I dual boxed with Cannock (Level 8 Druid) and Crawlller (Level 7 Ranger) for all of my quest runs.  Things started out with my normal slayer run in the morning as I took Cannock and Crawlller into Waterworks.  Cannock was working on finishing this area out (Crawlller already had it maxed out).  During that run Cannock picked up his last 82 kills to complete the area and in that process they took out Dhulokk, Har-har, and Gnarkill.  I didn’t get a chance to log in for my afternoon run but later that night I logged back on with Cannock and Crawlller and I took them out into Tangleroot Gorge to run the first quest of Assault on Splinterskull: First Strike.  Cannock is currently heavily working in this area while Crawlller only needs to find Commander Gharjat to have the entire area maxed out.  While out here, I picked up the rest of the explorer points for Cannock (10 more it total), picked up another 108 kills (pushing Cannock above 400), and found the rare encounters Clamor, Silkweave, Xassak, Jarak, Jana, and Kornak.  I then entered the quest First Strike and completed it on elite, including the optional objective of taking out Blademaster Chagg.  After that successful run, I then headed out of Tangleroot and decided to try the new Anniversary Party.  It was the first time I took at look at the quest and needless to say, I struggled in it.  Cannock was sliced in half by Severlin while Crawlller met his end against Steelstar.  After that attempt, and after the Monday night digital pen and paper game wound down, I called it a night.

Cannock collecting his slayers in the Waterworks.

Cannock battling Clamor in Tangleroot Gorge.

Cannock opening a door in Splinterskull  to deliver the First Strike.

Cannock fighting Severlin in the Anniversary Party.

On Tuesday, to kick off the first day of March, I took Tuhnn (Level 16 Bladeforged) into the Sands of Menechtarun.  While I was hunting out there during the morning slayer run, Tuhnn picked up 85 gnoll slayers and took out Den Mother Fheena.  In the afternoon, I took Hamllin (Level 18 Fighter) into the challenge Lava Caves: Time is Money.  Upon the quest completion, Hamllin picked up 141 Crystallized Magma Shards.  I completed the star objectives for obtaining 100 crystals, keeping all kobolds alive, and buying less than nine minutes of time.  That night, I logged back on with Crawlller and Cannock, for yet some more dual boxing, and I took them into the next quest for Assault on Splinterskull, Hobgoblin’s Captives.  I completed optional objectives for defeating the Warden and destroying all of the weapon crates.  Cannock was also fortunate enough to loot a Sapphire of Defense +2.  After that run, I took Crawlller and Cannock back into the Anniversary Party.  While inside here, Crawlller got pasted by one of the ogre’s partying with Cordovan but in the end I was able to take out all of the developers (Severlin, Steelstar, Cordovan, and Vargouille) and the dark overlord.  I picked up four party favors as the quest reward.  Not too bad :).

Tuhnn taking note of the moon in the desert.

Hamllin making his way through Time is Money.

Crawlller battling the spiders to free some captives.

Crawlller taking on the Dark Overlord of the Anniversary Party.

I logged on with Stoorage (Level 14 Fighter) and Charlock (Level 16 Fighter) and had another dual boxing session on Wednesday morning.  I took them into the swamps of the Red Fens.  As they ventured out into the Red Fens, the accrued another 56 slayers to add to their growing slayer count and defeated the rare encounter, Beacon.  And while out there, Charlock picked up a monster manual deed for rat exterminator II and picked up 1,769 experience.  During the afternoon run, I took Erdrique (Level 27 Rogue/Grand Master of Flowers) into the challenge Lava Caves: Colossal Crystal.  Erdrique completed the optional objectives for collecting one colossal crystal and clearing out the auditorium.  He picked up 227 epic jaded scorpions.  That was all I was able to get done on Wednesday as I spent the rest of the night with my wife for our weekly date night.

Stoorage gathering some slayers in the Red Fens.

Erdrique making his way through the Lava Caves to fight some drow.

To close out the week, I started Thursday morning by taking Hamllin out into the desert for some more slayers.  While hunting out there I picked up 68 gnolls, 5 scorrow, and 72 undead.  I also encountered and took down Lieutenant Ayurro, Haraja the Firedancer, and Palumak the Scourer.  In the afternoon I logged on with Hamllin again I took him through the challenge Kobold Island:Shortcuts.  Hamllin was able to complete the challenge and earned 121 orthon metal scraps.  But the only objective I was able to complete was to gather 300 crystals.  Later that night, I was scheduled to play Larrs (Level 21 Bard/Fatesinger).  I brought on him on took him into the The Prisoner on epic normal.  I completed the optional objectives for killing all of the arcane oozes, defeated Ingstoldt, defeated the mephits, and defeated the gargoyles.  I also defeated nine quori stalkers and five elder minotaur shamans.  I picked up 29 fragments of the Token of the Twelve, obtained a monster manual deed for elves (elf hunter, 700 experience) and picked up nine commendations of valor as a quest reward.  I then took Larrs into the Anniversary Party where I struggled quite a bit, dying multiple times to Cordovan, Severlin, and Vargouille.  I then got blasted by a kobold’s shaman disintegate which ended my run.

Hamllin enjoying the desert landscape.

Hamllin making his way to an extractor on Kobold Island: Shortcuts.

Larrs fighting Tharahk hounds in VON 2.

Larrs surrounded by bladebarriers from Steelstar.

Overall, it wasn’t a bad week.  I had a nice little mixture of runs: high and low level runs, slayer runs, and dual box runs.  I did have some trouble in the Anniversary Party but I started to get the hang of it.  I hope everybody else had a great week as well!!  Thanks for reading everybody and happy hunting in the Anniversary Party.

One thought on “Questing the First Week of March, February 29th to March 3rd

Leave a Reply

