Questing Over March 11th to 13th

During this particular weekend, my entire set of questing was done with either Erdrique (Level 27 Rogue/Grand Master of Flowers) or Hamllin (Level 18 Fighter).  In, fact the vast majority of the runs during this particular weekend was dominated by Erdrique.  It was one of those rare times where I was scheduled to play Erdrique during the Friday morning slayer run and during my Friday afternoon run.  To kicks things off on Friday morning, I took Erdrique out into the Sands of Menechtarun for some slayer runs.  While out there he collected 161 gnoll and 88 scorrow slayers.  He also completed the collection of all of the rare encounters when he finally came across Stinkpelt.  I also took out Lieutenant Ayurro, Vorvand Darkfur, Volrune the Curate, Utach, and Wokran-kull.  I also took Erdrique out into the Sands of Menechtarun during the afternoon foray into DDO.  During this run he collected another 170 gnoll, 84 scorrow, and 97 undead slayers.  In so doing, he collected his mark for 1,500 gnoll slayers.  Erdrique also took out General Tanakh, Thumok, Palumak, Haraja, Lieutenant Ayurro, Utach Sandcrawl, Workan-Kull, and Stinkpelt.  He also picked up a interesting reward from Thumok’s chest, a +2 Upgrade Tome of Intelligence.

Erd and his stable making sure that Stinkpelt doesn’t get away.

Erdrique collecting some more gnoll slayers in the desert.

Friday night was quite interesting :).  I took Erdrique into the Anniversary Party to start out the night.  I was able to make my way through this fun event and took out all of the developers and claimed all of the star at level.  I gathered up four party favors as a reward.  I then headed out to the Demonweb for the first time with Erdrique.  I took him out there to make my way to the quest Trial by Fury.  While making my way through Lolth’s generated domain, I collected 14 spider and 15 fiend slayers, giving me the 10 slayer mark for each group.  This also took into account taking down two goristros.  I also came across journals 1, 2, 3, and 4 before I made my way to the quest entrance.  I then made my way through Trial by Fury on epic hard.  I was able to defeat the optional encounters with Shufarix, Tsirrik, Cho’ahz, Nilaphax, and Majuph.  I wound up gathering two monster manual deeds for the yuguloth, one was account wide and the other one was a hunter deed that netted Erdrique over 5,000 experience.  I completed the optional objectives for collecting all of the stones of might, all of the stones of wisdom, and all of the stones period.  I also looted two Commendations: Clerics of Amaunator and one Commendation: War Wizard.  I also picked up four mysterious remnants.  As a quest reward, I picked up 27 Commendations of Valor.

Battling Cordovan in the Anniversary Party Challenge.

Erdrique makes his way back into the Demonweb.

It appears that Trial by Fury will be an interesting adventure.

Saturday, I kicked off the night’s worth of questing by taking Erdrique back out into the Sands of Menechtarun for some more slayers.  I picked up another 172 gnoll, 89 scorrow, and 86 undead slayers.  While hunting down the mephits in the open desert area and around the tombs I picked up the monster manual deed for Mephit Exterminator IV which netted around 3,300 experience.  I encountered The Thirsty One, Palumak, Lieutenant Ayurro, Volrune the Curate, Utach Sandcrawl, and Den Mother Fheena.  The only interesting piece of loot I picked up during this run was a Dusk Heart.  After that run, I took Erdrique back into the Anniversary Party and didn’t have as much success as I did on Friday.  During this run, I suffered one defeat but I did raise back up and completed the quest gaining another four party favors.  I then headed back out into the Demonweb and made my way to the next quest, The Deal and the Demon.  While making my way through the Demonweb, I gathered another 21 spider and 15 fiend slayers.  I also picked up 17 drow slayers.  The slayers I picked up gave me 25 spider and fiend slayer marks as well as the 10 drow slayer mark.  I also discovered the message 37, 38, 33, 32, 31, 39, and 35.  The slayers also accounted for taking down two goristros as well.  Inside the quest, I had some slight difficulties.  I entered the quest on epic hard and took on the battle with the orange named hezrou, Graal’zerub.  I just basically wasn’t paying attention to the fact that my hireling wasn’t with me and had bugged out elsewhere.  I had to go ahead and purchase a resurrection cake to get back up but luckily that was the only hiccup I ran into.  I didn’t run into any other problems with two orange named chosen of Lolth or with Arith’narac and Kishnaurac.  While making my way through the quest, I picked another monster manual deed, this one for hezrou hunter which netted Erdrique over 8,800 experience.  I also completed the optional objective for allowing the mercenaries to be summoned.  As for rewards, I picked up a Commendation: Villagers of Eveningstar, the Spider Spun Caparison, and 24 commendations of Valor.

Erdrique taking on the Den Mother and her clan in the desert.

Heading back into the Demonweb.

Erdrique and his hirelings starting the Deal and the Demon.

It was on Sunday I switched over to Hamllin (Level 18 Fighter) who I took into the Temple of Elemental Evil Part II.  I was taking Hamllin in here to collect the favor on this challenging quest on elite.  Unfortunately things didn’t go as I had planned.  The one thing about the Temple of Elemental Evil is that you have to devote enough time to make it through the quest, otherwise you will most likely not complete it, which has happened to me both times.  I’m sure once I learn it more, the quest will become easier to to do but needless to say this wasn’t the day.  I find it interesting how challenging a level 9 quest (level 7 on elite) is so challenging for a level 18 character.  As I was making my way the through the quest I came across and defeated the ogre chieftainDeggun, Barkinur, and three ogre commanders.  I also collected thirteen yellow parisol mushrooms and an account wide monster manual deed for bats.  However, in the end Hamllin and his hireling died in a grand case of glory while working their way through the fire node.  Looks like I’ll have to complete this one at another time.

Hammy taking a stab at the Temple of Elemental Evil Part 2 on elite.

Overall, it was a rather productive weekend, at least for Erdrique and a very disappointing weekend for Hamllin.  I have a number of other characters that still need to make their way through the Temple of Elemental Evil so I’m hoping if I keep throwing lives at it that it will eventually settled into my psyche.  We’ll see!!  Thanks for reading everybody and I’m doing my best to catch back up with my blog entries.  Happy hunting!!

 

One thought on “Questing Over March 11th to 13th

Leave a Reply

