Throwing Down the Reign

There is no doubt that when I play DDO I feel much more comfortable playing melee and ranged characters as opposed to casting characters.  With that said, I currently have quite a stable of characters, with many of them level 20 or higher that range across all types of character classes.  The more comfortable I am with my character, the higher the difficult setting I will play.  For example, with my main character Erdrique (Level 28 Rouge/Grandmaster of Flowers) I tend to run things on either heroic elite (when going through his heroic lives) or epic hard.  However, for my arcane casters such as Rimuldar (Level 24 Wizard/Draconic Incarnation) I tend to stick to epic normal.  Characters that I tend to run quests on epic hard include Garrrin (Level 24 Barbarian/Fury of the Wild), Kolll (Level 22 Ranger/Shiradi Champion), and Wapoyei (Level 24 Cleric/Divine Crusader).  My other characters in the epic levels are focusing on epic normal, which includes my bard Larrs, (Level 21 Fatesinger).  However, the Fatesinger epic destiny tree has some powerful abilities that are starting to make me more comfortable in playing Larrs and I’m beginning to think I should step up his challenges.

One of the abilities I’m thinking about is called Reign.  I talked about this ability a few months ago when I talked about Larrs and the Fatesinger epic destiny.  That particular post was more broad in scope that looked at all of the fun little features of Fatesinger (at least those I had access too at the moment :)).  For this post I wanted to focus more on Reign itself.  Reign is a powerful tier three ability.  It costs one point per rank (with up to three ranks being available).  It is essentially a song, although when you activate it your character doesn’t go through the motion of playing and strumming a lute but instead it just activates immediately, spending a song use.  With Larrs being primarily a Spellsinger a shortage of songs is never an issue for him!!  Also, all of the special enhancements and abilities that Larrs gets from the Spellsinger enhancement that extend the length of songs also apply to Reign, which is also very nice.

Larrs battling in the King’s Forest.

Reign is essentially a two tiered buff.  First off, upon its activation, it gives your character up to 60 temporary hit points (at the third rank).  Getting extra hit points is always a good thing and is indeed a nice little plus to add to other extra hit point buffs such as Greater Heroism, Aid, and Rage (just to name a few).  The second tier of the buff is a damage boost  to your vorpal strike attacks (and this works across melee and ranged combat attacks).  When you land a vorpal strike, you bring forth a tremendous thunderclap.  The thunderclap comes down and appears like a large lightning strke and it does two types of damage.  Its damage is split between delivering 11d20 sonic damage and 11d20 electrical damage.  I don’t believe there is a save against the effect either.  This ability is a nice boost to Larrs’ overall damage output and it is always great to see a powerful lightning bolt to come streaking down on top of the enemies I’m battling.  Of course, their downfall with the vorpal strike requirement, besides needing a vorpal strike to begin with, in that you don’t have a lot of control when a vorpal strike will occur and it is likely to proc just as often when your enemy is nearly defeated as it is at the beginning of the encounter when it is much more useful.  But that is relatively minor.

This is definitely one of the more fun abilities in the Fatesinger epic destiny tree for me.  There are plenty of other buffs as well, but this one is just plain out right fun :).  Thanks for reading everybody and happy hunting!!

2 thoughts on “Throwing Down the Reign

  1. Pingback: DDOCast 430 – Consumables « DDOcast – A DDO Podcast!

Leave a Reply

