Getting Used to A New Weapon Type

The Artificer class has been out for quite some time now (since Update 11, released in September 2011) however I never took the time to draft one up until after the Gnome race was released in Update 30 along with the Anniversary Party last year (February 2016).  When that occurred, I created a number of characters (at least enough to fill all of my available character slots).  One of the characters I created was a gnome artificer named Breyy.

One of the unique features of this class, is the fun ability to use a Rune Arm.  You can imagine a rune arm being like a mini-cannon that slides on your arm.  It is essentially another weapon type that the artificer class can use to dispatch of his/her enemies.  It took me a little while to figure out how the this ability works.  Part of this is because I play DDO with an Xbox controller, mouse, and keyboard.  I use the Xbox controller for the primary functions: moving, jumping, and attacking (primarily).  For most of my characters this isn’t an issue, however, the rune arm ability is a new function that I had to figure out how to key map to for that attacking ability (without messing up the key mapping for all of my other characters).

Once I figured that out, I was able to use my rune arm at will.  To use the rune arm, you have to toggle on the ability that allows you to charge the rune arm.  When you do this, you run a little slower, but not slow enough that it can’t be overcome.  Whenever you stop moving, your rune arm will charge up to higher levels allowing you to fire it at your enemies.  Rune arms, like other weapons, will increase in strength at higher levels and they also can be crafted upon.  Rune arms can also be based on different elemental abilities such as lightning or fire.  I’m still collecting rune arms so my knowledge in how effective they are is still limited.

No automatic alt text available.

Breyy testing his rune arm against some sahaugin in Korthos.

It is a fun little feature though.  My artificer is a heavy/small repeating cross bow user, so this couples quite well with the rune arm ability.  I’m looking forward to getting him to higher levels and picking up more rune arms to use against the enemies of Eberron and Forgotten Realms.

Thanks for reading everybody and happy hunting!!

One thought on “Getting Used to A New Weapon Type

Leave a Reply

