Crunching Down the Numbers of My Monster Manual-Part 8

In my last article about analyzing the numbers of my monster manual, I took a look at the diversity of monsters that Kolll, my level 22 Arcane Archer/Shiradi Champion, defeated.  In this article I take a look at the opposite side of things, what monsters accounted for his defeats.

Unlike what I saw with Erdrique and Hamllin, the trends I noticed here showed that Kolll’s defeats by monster type did not follow the same trends for my account as a whole. Kolll’s  top three adversaries were player races, monstrous humanoids, and elementals/abberations (Table 1 and Figures 1 and 2).  For the entire account the top three enemy types that accounted for the most of my characters death were humanoids, player races, and undead.  Across my entire account, Kolll accounted for just about 3.5% of my total deaths.

Table 1.  Number of defeats suffered by Kolll, my account, and the percent Kolll accounted for by monster type.

monster20manual20820table201_zpsmbvnd0g3

monster20manual20820figure201_zpst1td4hlq

Figure 1.  Proportion of Kolll’s defeats by monster type.

monster20manual20820figure202_zpsxsfqfl6w

Figure 2.  Number of defeats by monster type for Kolll and my account as a whole.

The next thing I wanted to look at was Kolll’s kill ratio and his death rate and how these statistics compared to my account as a whole.  I explained how these statistics are calculated back in this blog post.  Tables 2 and 3 and Figures 3 and 4 illustrated these trends.  Kolll’s highest kill ratio were for humanoid, vermin, undead, giant, and player races.  These particular ratios ranged from just over 100 to over 1,000.  Comparing these trends account wide, these monster types ranged in the middle area for my account as a whole, except for vermin which also had a very high kill ratio.

Table 2.  Kill ratio statistic by monster type for Kolll and across my account (sorted by highest ratio for Kolll).

monster20manual20820table202_zpscubmpexv

Table 3.  Death rate statistic by monster type for Kolll and across my account (sorted by highest death rate for Kolll).

monster20manual20820table203_zpsqhbir50w

monster20manual20820figure203_zpszvsxm9fl

Figure 3.  Kill ratio by monster type for Kolll and my account.

monster20manual20820figure204_zpslwnaqncp

Figure 4.  Death rate by monster type for Kolll and my account.

Looking at the death ratio statistic, the most dangerous enemies Kolll encountered were aberrations, elementals, and monstrous humanoids.  A comparison to the death rate statistic account wide showed some divergent trends.  Account wide, dragons, outsiders, and aberrations accounted for the top three deadliest enemies.

I took a broader look at Kolll’s defeats and compared them to my account as a whole across monster manual volumes (Table 4-6 and Figures 5-7).  Across the eight volumes (Prologue + Volumes 1 thru 7), the monsters in Volume 2 accounted for the majority (9 deaths) of Kolll’s defeats than any other volume.  Comparing the trends of Kolll’s defeats to all of my characters, the trends were quite different.  Kolll suffered the majority of his defeats from monsters in Volume 2, while across my entire account the majority of deaths were due to monsters in the Prologue.  Kolll’s second leading volume was Volume 7 while account wide it was Volume 1.  Taking a look at the percentages that Kolll accounted for by volume is also interesting.  Kolll accounted for less than 10% in the majority of the volumes, but in Volume 7 the number of deaths he suffered accounted for 80% of deaths on my account.

Table 4.  Number of defeats by monster manual volume for Kolll and my account and the percent Kolll accounted for.

monster20manual20820table204_zpst0obtjk7

Table 5.  Kill ratio for Kolll and my account by monster manual volume (sorted by highest kill ratio for Kolll).

monster20manual20820table205_zpsbox5qjed

Table 6.  Death rate for Kolll and my account by monster manual volume (sorted by highest death rate for Kolll).

monster20manual20820table206_zpsytyuv9bg

monster20manual20820figure205_zpseooeho9o

Figure 5.  Total number of defeats by monster manual volume for Kolll and my account.

monster20manual20820figure206_zpsusueryxq

Figure 6.  Kill ratio by monster manual volume for Kolll and my account.

monster20manual20820figure207_zpsjqgyqekx

Figure 7.  Death rate by monster manual volume for Kolll and my account.

I noticed some interesting trends when I looked at the number of defeats by monster race (Tables 7-12 and Figures 8-15).  The monster races that accounted for the top five defeats for Kolll were minotaur, warforged, drow, mephits, and sahaugin.  These trends definitely reflect those I saw when I looked at defeats by monster type.  Comparing these to the top five for my account; humans, hobgoblin, beholder, skeleton, and troglodytes we see quite a divergence  What I found really interesting is that Kolll accounted for 100% of my account’s defeats against drow and 43% of my defeats from warforged.  Looking at the opposite trends, monsters that accounted for the least number of deaths for Kolll (excluding those that Kolll hasn’t suffered a defeat against) include humans, beholders, driders, scorpions, elf, zombies, hill giant, and kobold.  At the time I pulled this data, Kolll hadn’t suffered a defeat against 62 different monster races, at least to date (a good portion of these he hadn’t yet encountered).  Account wide, this number is only 17 races.

Table 7.  Top five monster races by number of defeats for Kolll, the number of defeats those races accounted for on my account, and Kolll’s percent of those defeats.

monster20manual20820table207_zpsiaoquiye

Table 8.  Monster races that accounted for the fewest number of defeats for Kolll, excluding those Kolll never suffered a defeat from.

monster20manual20820table208_zps7xj8kv4u

Table 9.  List of monsters that Kolll has never been defeated by and the number of defeats those same monsters have accrued against my account.

monster20manual20820table209_zpsrarbd4nt

monster20manual20820figure208_zps0lkligtr

Figure 8.  Top five monster races that defeated Kolll and their respective defeats account wide.

monster20manual20820figure209_zpstripn6vy

Figure 9.  Monster races that accounted for the fewest number of defeats for Kolll and their respective defeats account wide.

Taking a a more detailed look at the monster races that accounted for Kolll’s most defeats, drow had the lowest kill ratio and the highest death rates, indicating that these monsters are the most dangerous encounters for him, at least with those from the top five in defeats.  Looking at the kill ratio and death rate statistics for those races that accounted for the fewest defeats, driders and beholders were the most dangerous for Kolll, and in fact the one encounter he had with a drider resulted in a defeat and at the time I pulled the data he hadn’t had a chance to encounter any others.

Table 10.  Kill ratio and death rate for the top five monster races by number of defeats for Kolll and the same statistics for my account as whole for the same monster races.

monster20manual20820table2010_zpsmzgmp1t8

Table 11.  Kill ratio and death rate for the monster races that accounted for the fewest number of kills for Kolll.

monster20manual20820table2011_zpsf9xbjfpu

 

monster20manual20820figure2010_zpsiyfj0wfa

Figure 10.  Kill ratio for the monsters that accounted for most of Kolll’s defeats.

monster20manual20820figure2011_zpska6j8zay

Figure 11.  Death rate for the monsters that accounted for most of Kolll’s defeats.

monster20manual20820figure2012_zpsx6vhjv9c

Figure 12.  Kill ratio for the monsters that accounted for the fewest number of defeats for Kolll.

monster20manual20820figure2013_zpscgdpb3k7

Figure 13.  Death rate for the monsters that accounted for the fewest number of defeats for Kolll.

The last analysis I did was too look at the top 10 deadliest monster races for my account and looked at those statistics for Kolll.  Taking a look at the kill ratio and death rate statistics, the top 10 deadliest races for my account include: purple worms, dragons, beholders, hezrou, ice flensers, abishai, drider, lich, efreeti, and mind flayer.  Out of these, Kolll has only suffered defeats beholders and driders,  Much of this is do to the fact that Kolll hasn’t encountered these enemies or they were added to the monster manual after Kolll complete the quests where these enemies typically occur.

Table 12.  Top 10 deadliest monster races for my account using the kill ratio and death rate statistics and comparing those statistics to Kolll’s.

monster20manual20820table2012_zpsimukuiwd

These trends I have observed with Kolll are a little different from what I saw with Erdrique and Hamllin.  This is primarily because Kolll is questing in a different level range than Erdrique and Hamllin and because he gets a lot less play time.

Thanks for reading everybody!!  Happy hunting in DDO everybody!!

 

 

One thought on “Crunching Down the Numbers of My Monster Manual-Part 8

Leave a comment