Crunching Down the Numbers of my Monster Manual-Part 4

The last time I looked at the data from the Monster Manual, I analyzed the trends in the number and type of monster kills for Erdrique and how his data compared to the data for my whole account.  This time I want to explore the tends in the number of Erdrique’s defeats at the hands of the enemy and do a similar comparison to the number of defeats my characters have suffered account wide.  The data I used for this was updated at the same time as the data I used for determining Erdrique’s trends in monster kills (2/22/2016).

Taking a broad look at my statistics from the monster manual, the tends I saw in Erdrique’s defeats by monster type tended to vary from those I observed account wide.  For Erdrique, the top five that accounted for his defeats were player races, outsiders, monstrous humanoids, aberrations, and humans (Table 1 and Figures 1 and 2).  For the entire account the top five enemy types that accounted for the most of my characters death were player races, humanoids, undead, aberrations, and monstrous humanoids.  I found it a little interesting at looking at the percent of defeats Erdrique accounted for on my account my monster type.  Erdrique accounted for 100% of my defeats against miscellaneous monsters.  If I remember correctly, this was due to being defeated by the annoying slimes in Creeping Death.  The next three highest percentages were for humans(41.41%), animals (37.5%), and monstrous humanoids (36.96%).  All together, Erdrique had a total of 107 defeats which was 23% of the number of defeats across my entire account.  Considering the fact that Erdrique accounts for the majority of game play time, 23% isn’t all that surprising.

Table 1.  Number of defeats suffered by Erdrique, my account, and the percent Erdrique accounted for by monster type.

Figure 1.  Proportion of Erdrique’s defeats by monster type.

Figure 2.  Number of defeats by monster type for Erdrique and my account as a whole.

The next thing I wanted to look at was Erdrique’s kill ration and his death rate and how these statistics compared to my account as a whole.  I explained the how this statistics are calculated back in this blog post.  The idea behind these statistics is to get an idea on how dangerous the various types of enemies that are recorded in the monster manual that my characters encounter in DDO really are by trying to standardize encounter rates.  Basically they are two simple statistics, averages for the number of monsters my characters kill per character death (kill ratio = enemy kills / character deaths) and the average number of deaths my characters suffer per enemy death (death rate = character deaths / enemy kills).  Of these statistics, the death rate is probably the most telling because the higher this number the more dangerous this monster is to my characters (meaning I get killed more often against these monsters).  Ok, enough explanations, let’s look at some numbers.

Tables 2 and 3 and Figures 3 and 4 illustrated these trends.  Taking a look at the kill ratio statistic for Erdrique, I noticed that the highest kill ratio for Erdrique were for elementals, humanoids, undead, and animals.  These particular ratios were well over 1,000.  Basically, these enemies Erdrique encounters quite often and suffers relatively few defeats against them.  Now, one thing I must point out here, this statistic is only valid for enemies that my characters suffered at least one kill against during their questing.  This is because the equation is not functional if my characters have never been killed by a monster category (you can’t divide by 0).  Comparing these trends account wide, the highest kill ratio was for animals, vermin, miscellaneous, and undead.  So the trends do vary between Erdrique specifically and for my entire account but you can definitely see Erdrique’s influence on these numbers.

Table 2.  Kill ratio statistic by monster type for Erdrique and across my account (sorted by highest ratio for Erdrique).

Table 3.  Death rate statistic by monster type for Erdrique and across my account (sorted by highest death rate for Erdrique).

Figure 3.  Kill ratio by monster type for Erdrique and my account.

Figure 4.  Death rate by monster type for Erdrique and my account.

Looking at the death ratio statistic, the most dangerous enemies Erdrique encounters were aberrations, outsiders, player races, monstrous humanoids, and miscellaneous.  I’m not entirely surprised by these trends.  Erdrique typically finds himself against beholders, mind flayers, devils, orthons, ice flensers, and others much more often than majority of other characters.  A comparison to the death rate statistic account wide showed some similar trends here.  Account wide, aberrations, outsiders, player races, elementals, and monstrous humanoids.  The only difference in the top five for death rates between Erdrique and my account is miscellaneous types for Erdrique and elementals account wide.  I guess this makes some sense, considering that Erdrique accounted for the entire number of deaths for my account against miscellaneous monsters while a number of my other characters have found issues dealing with elementals at times.

Taking a broader look at Erdrique’s defeats and comparing them to my account, I took at these same trends by monster manual volume (Table 4-6 and Figures 5-7).  Across the seven volumes (Prologue + Volumes 1 thru 6), the monsters in the Prologue accounted for the majority (40 deaths) of Erdrique’s defeats than any other volume.  Comparing the trends of Erdrique’s defeats to all of my characters, the trends were nearly identical except for monster manual volumes 3 and 5.  Erdrique suffered more defeats from the monsters in volume 5 than in volume 3, this was opposite to my account as a whole.  Taking a look at the percentages that Erdrique accounted for by volume is also quite telling.  Erdrique accounted for over 70% of my account’s defeats against monsters in volumes 4, 5, and 6.  These volumes  tend to have some of the more difficult and higher level enemies in them so this makes a lot of sense to me because Erdrique encounters these enemies much more often than my other characters.  You can also see these trends when you look at the kill ratio and death rate statistics.  Erdrique’s kill ratio was highest for monster manual volume 6 while account wide the highest kill ratio was for volume 1.  However, Erdrique currently hasn’t suffered a defeat from any monster in volume 1 so that isn’t really comparable.  When that is removed, the kill ratio for both Erdrique and my account exhibit the same trends except for one instance.  Erdrique’s kill ratio for volume 5 is lower than volume 3, this is opposite to my account as a whole.  Looking at Erdrique’s death rate, the reverse trends are observed with monsters from volume 5 accounting for the highest value, indicating these monsters are the most dangerous for Erdrique.  Again, this is similar to my account as whole accept for flipping volumes 3 and 5.

Table 4.  Number of defeats by monster manual volume for Erdrique and my account and the percent Erdrique accounted for.

Table 5.  Kill ratio for Erdrique and my account by monster manual volume (sorted by highest kill ratio for Erdrique).

Table 6.  Death rate for Erdrique and my account by monster manual volume (sorted by highest death rate for Erdrique).

Figure 5.  Total number of defeats by monster manual volume for Erdrique and my account.

Figure 6.  Kill ratio by monster manual volume for Erdrique and my account.

Figure 7.  Death rate by monster manual volume for Erdrique and my account.

Perhaps the funnest trends were exhibited by looking at the number of defeats by monster race (Tables 7-12 and Figures 8-15).  The monster races that accounted for the top five most defeats for Erdrique were humans, gargoyles, ice flensers, beholders, and efreetis.  These trends definitely reflect those I saw when I looked at defeats by monster type.  Comparing these to the top five for my account; humans, beholders, skeletons, hobgoblins, and troglodytes we see quite a difference, again this is reflected when looking at monster type as well.  What I found really interesting is that Erdrique accounted for over 70% of my account’s defeats against gargoyles, ice flensers, and efreetis.  In fact, Erdrique has accounted for all of the deaths due to efreetis.  Looking at the opposite trends, monsters that accounted for the least number of deaths for Erdrique (excluding those that Erdrique hasn’t suffered a defeat against) include scorrow, fire elemental, quori, dwarf, iron defender, iron golem, abishai, and lich.  Of these, Erdrique accounted for 100% of the deaths account wind for six of these eight monsters (dwarf and fire elemental were the only two Erdrique didn’t completely account for).  One thing I found very interesting is that Erdrique hasn’t suffered a defeat against 43 different monster races, at least to date.  Account wide, this number is only 23 races.

Table 7.  Top five monster races by number of defeats for Erdrique, the number of defeats those races accounted for on my account, and Erdrique’s percent of those defeats.

Table 8.  Monster races that accounted for the fewest number of defeats for Erdrique, excluding those Erdrique never suffered a defeat from.

Table 9.  List of monsters that Erdrique has never been defeated by and the number of defeats those same monsters have accrued against my account.

Figure 8.  Top five monster races that defeated Erdrique and their respective defeats account wide.

Figure 9.  Monster races that accounted for the fewest number of defeats for Erdrique and their respective defeats account wide.

Taking a a more detailed look at the monster races that accounted for Erdrique’s most defeats, ice flensers and efreetis had the lowest kill ratio for Erdrique and the highest death rates, indicating that these monsters are most dangerous encounters for Erdrique, at least with those from the top five in defeats.  These trends are similar across my account except that beholders are the most deadly.  Looking at the kill ratio and death rate statistics for those races that accounted for the fewest defeats, liches and iron golems were the most dangerous for Erdrique.  The trends specifically for Erdrique and my entire account are almost identical for these monsters, except that fire elementals and iron defenders are switched for Erdrique compared to my account.

Table 10.  Kill ratio and death rate for the top five monster races by number of defeats for Erdrique and the same statistics for my account as whole for the same monster races.

Table 11.  Kill ratio and death rate for the monster races that accounted for the fewest number of kills for Erdrique.

Figure 10.  Kill ratio for the monsters that accounted for most of Erdrique’s defeats.

Figure 11.  Death rate for the monsters that accounted for most of Erdrique’s defeats.

Figure 12.  Kill ratio for the monsters that accounted for the fewest number of defeats for Erdrique.

Figure 13.  Death rate for the monsters that accounted for the fewest number of defeats for Erdrique.

The last analysis I did was too look at the top 10 deadliest monster races for Erdrique.  Taking a look at the kill ratio and death rate statistics, the top 10 deadliest races for  Erdrique include: ice flensers, efreeties, hezerou, beholder, lich, gargoyle, mind flayer, iron golems, quori, and humans.  These trends are similar to my account analysis however in that analysis, raksasha and fire elementals were in the top 10 and these were replaced by gargoyles and humans for Erdrique.

Table 12.  Top 10 deadliest monster races for Erdrique using the kill ratio and death rate statistics.

Figure 14.  Kill ratio for the top 10 deadliest races against Erdrique.

Figure 15.  Death rate for the top 10 deadliest races against Erdrique.

The trends I have seen with Erdrique show me a couple of things.  First, although I play him much more than my other characters, he doesn’t have as much of an impact on the trends in the monster manual as I originally thought.  He definitely has a large influence but I thought he was going to drive these trends much more.  Second, he is definitely a large influence in the later volumes of the monster manual, although this might change as a number of my other characters are starting to get higher in levels and will be encountering these creatures more often.  Third, my obsession with running slayer areas, especially with Erdrique, quite possibly can start “padding” these stats.  We’ll see how this develops over time.

Thanks for reading everybody!!  The next thing I want to do is took at Hamllin’s stats and see how they compare to my account as a whole.  Happy hunting in DDO everybody!!

3 thoughts on “Crunching Down the Numbers of my Monster Manual-Part 4

  1. Pingback: Crunching Down the Numbers of My Monster Manual-Part 5 | Erdrique's Blog

  2. Pingback: Crunching Down the Numbers of My Monster Manual-Part 7 | Erdrique's Blog

Leave a comment